Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Fresh trouble for Mukul
Correspondent SHILLONG, APR 21
Published on 22 Apr. 2010 12:32 AM IST
Print  Text Size

The ordeal of a few Congress legislators in Meghalaya is expected to end soon, while those left out in the cold would soon be in an ending state of agony.
With this end in view, newly sworn-in Chief Minister Mukul M Sangma Wednesday flew to New Delhi to finalise the list of remaining eight council of ministers with Congress high command.
“I am going to New Delhi to get the list of the remaining eight ministers approved by the Congress high command with madam (Sonia Gandhi),” Sangma told Nagaland Post. The chief minister, who was accompanied by state Congress chief Friday Lyngdoh, legislators Francis Pondit R. Sangma, Ronnie V. Lyngdoh and senior party leader O.L. Nongtdu, said the list was likely to be approved by Friday.
According to party sources, the remaining eight ministers would be mainly from the Congress.
The probables include Rowell Lyngdoh, H.D.R. Lyngdoh, Shitlang Pale, and Frankenstein W. Momin. Senior Congress legislator Sayeedulah Nongrum and first-time legislator Sniawbhalang Dhar are also vying for a ministerial berth.
Former ministers in the ousted D.D. Lapang cabinet - Martin M. Danggo, Prestone Tynsong and Ampareen Lyngdoh, the lone woman legislator - are also in the list of probables, the sources said.
“I can’t reveal the names, but will know soon after madam (Gandhi) approves the list,” Sangma said. The Lapang government collapsed after 14 Congress legislators asked him to sack two independents - Ismail R. Marak and Limison Sangma - and Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) leader Paul Lyngdoh from the cabinet.
They wanted Congress members to be included in the cabinet in their place. When Lapang failed to do so, the rebels pressed for his removal. Sangma, who took oath as chief minister Tuesday, is heading the five-party Congress-United Democratic Party coalition government.
Sangma was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor R.S. Mooshahary at Raj Bhavan. Three other ministers - A.T. Mondal (Independent), J.A. Lyngdoh and Bindo Mathew Lanong of the United Democratic Party - were also sworn in.
Lanong was sworn in as deputy chief minister. The trio had been part of the D.D. Lapang ministry as well.
In the 60-member legislature, the Congress has 28 legislators and has the support of 10 UDP members, five independents and one KHNAM legislator. The main opposition Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has 15 members.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2