Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
CTC advisory committee members inducted
Staff Reporter DIMAPUR, APR 22 (NPN)
Published on 23 Apr. 2010 12:07 AM IST
Print  Text Size

A five-member team advisory committee of the Chumukedima Town Council (CTC) was inducted on Thursday during a programme at the CTC town hall with EAC Chumukedima, B. Henok Buchem, who is also the administrator of the Council presiding over the programme. The five members included: Thepfulhoutuo Shuya, Meribeni, Seyie-u Keyho, Arenba Longkumer and Razouvotuo K. Chatsu. The powers and functions of the Committee, as per government notification, would be to “advise the administrator within the parameters of the Nagaland Municipal Act 2001” and shall sit at least once in a month.
In his introductory speech, the EAC threw light on the government notification on how the advisory committee members were appointed and highlighted their powers and functions.
Delivering a short speech, advisory committee member, Thepfulhoutuo Shuya said the members would give their best to formulate the civic sense of a good living atmosphere adding that their duty was to “guide the people.”
He said the areas of concern for the committee would be on sanitation, price control and toll taxes. “We cannot in any way negotiate to convert our land into land of taxes,” he assertedShuya said the committee also aimed to interact with the public, leaders and ward members of Chumukedima town in order to seek their views and suggestions.
He said there were certain areas where things have to be rectified. He appealed for collective wisdom to bring a change in the council.
Other members of the advisory committee also spoke during the programme which was attended by CTC ex-members, GBs, elders etc.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2