Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Another Naga MLA quits
Correspondent IMPHAL, May 7:
Published on 7 May. 2010 11:55 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Upholding support to the six Naga MLAs who resigned on Thursday, Danny Shaiza, MLA representing Ukhrul Assembly constituency of Ukhrul district submitted his resignation to the Speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly on Friday.
According to the six MLAs from Ukhrul, Senapati, Chandel and Tamenglong districts, Dr Kashim Ruivah, Morung Makunga, Awangbou Newmai, K Raina, M Thohrii and Wungnaoshung Keishing resigned on Thursday on the ground seeking immediate intervention to prevent any untoward incident by submitting a memorandum to the prime minister, home minister, defence minister and RS Pandey, interlocutor on Indo-Naga Peace Talk- representative of Government of India.
The MLAs also requested the state government to reconsider the cabinet decision on banning the entry of Th. Muivah, general secretary, NSCN (IM) - the chief negotiator of NSCN/GPRN in Indo-Naga peace.
“The state government stationed state forces along the roads which Muivah is supposed to travel on his way to Somdal creating war like situation,” they stated.
However an official of the Manipur Legislative Assembly opined that it was likely the speaker of the house might reject the six MLAs resignation letter on technical grounds.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News