Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Sangma inducts eight more ministers
Correspondent SHILLONG, APR 24:
Published on 25 Apr. 2010 12:24 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Chief minister, Dr Mukul M Sangma Saturday expanded his four--day-old ministry with the induction of eight Congress legislators as cabinet ministers. Mukul is leading a five-party Congress-United Democratic Party coalition government.
Five of the 16 rebel Congress legislators --- Rowell Lyngdoh, H.D.R. Lyngdoh, Frankenstein W. Momin, Augustine D. Marak and Founder Strong Cajee --- who brought down the DD Lapang ministry were sworn in. Rowell Lyngdoh, was sworn in as deputy chief minister.
Only three of the four former Congress ministers --- Prestone Tynsong, Prof RC Laloo and M Ampareen Lyngdoh, the lone woman legislator, in the ousted DD Lapang’s cabinet retained their cabinet berths.
Governor RS Mooshahary administered the oath of office and secrecy to the eight ministers. Four ministers in the ousted DD Lapang ministry--Martin M Danggo of Congress, Paul Lyngdoh of Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement and Independents Limison D Sangma and Ismail R Marak--were left out. On April 20, Mukul was sworn in along with three others--Bindo M Lanong, JA Lyngdoh (both from the United Democratic Party) and Independent MLA AT Mondal.
The Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance government comprises 44 legislators--28 from the Congress, nine UDP, two HSPDP, one KHNAM and four Independents, while the Opposition bench has 15 members and one Independent in the 60-member House.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News