Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
UPA defeats cut motion, 246 votes against, 162 for. SP, RJD MPS walkout
Published on 28 Apr. 2010 12:10 AM IST
Print  Text Size

The UPA government defeated the cut motion by a massive margin on Tuesday. 246 MPs voted against the cut motion and 162 voted in favour with SP and RJD MPs abstaining from voting.
As soon as the Lok Sabha reconvened, RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav declared he would vote in favour of the cut motion, soon after both RJD an SP MPs walked along with Lalu Prasad and Mulayam Singh.
The Lok Sabha had adjourned earlier as opposition leaders protested against rising prices. Leader of opposition Sushma Swaraj also lashed out at Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for making a statement outside the house on a JPC probe on the phone tapping and IPL.
50 BJP MPs had tabled a breach of privilege notice in Lok Sabha against Prime Minister Manmohan Singh for announcing outside Parliament his decision to reject setting up of a joint parliamentary committee on the issue of alleged phone tapping.
The prime minister had on Monday night told reporters on the sidelines of the defence investiture ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhawan that the phone tapping and IPL controversy were not fit cases to constitute a joint parliamentary committee (JPC).
Sushma Swaraj said she was “shocked to see in the newspaper” that the prime minister had made a statement rejecting the Bharatiya Janata Party’s demand.
“This is not an ordinary thing. This is an insult to the august house,” she asserted, amidst a ruckus by members of Samajwadi Party and Rashtriya Janata Dal over rising prices.
Technical snag
A technical snag developed in the automatic vote recording system in the Lok Sabha Tuesday as Speaker Meira Kumar asked MPs to cast their votes on the cut motion moved by Communist Party of India (CPI) leader Gurudas Das Gupta.
More than a dozen foreigners were watching the house proceedings from the visitors’ gallery as the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government faced a threat of a cut motion by the opposition parties minus the Samajwadi Party and the Rashttriya Janata Dal (RJD).
After failing to rectify the technical snag, the house unanimously agreed to opt for the old way of voting using voting slips.
“Still machine is not working, slips should be given and division (on the cut motion) could be taken place,” said Leader of Opposition Sushma Swaraj.
Agreeing with Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal’s suggestion, the opposition also agreed to “put all cut motion together” for division.
A computerised integrated system on microphone management, simultaneous interpretation and automatic vote recording in Lok Sabha chamber was inducted from the 12th session of the tenth Lok Sabha.
The automatic vote recording system can be used for open voting wherein the names of members who vote “for” or “against” a question or “abstain” in the voting are recorded.
It could also be used for secret balloting as well as for quorum (automatic counting of members present in the chamber) purposes.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News