Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
MPCC chief’s house burned, repolls for ADC polls; counting postponed
Correspondent IMPHAL, JUN 6:
Published on 7 Jun. 2010 1:10 AM IST
Print  Text Size

A multi-storied building and a car belonging to Manipur Congress chief, Gaikhangam at Tamenglong district headquarters was set ablaze by miscreants suspected to be the protestors of ADC election in the wee hours of Sunday, police sources said.
The house was totally burned down after around ten to fifteen miscreants, some with their faces covered, set it ablaze. Police said the loss was in terms of several lakh rupees.
Gaikhangam attracted the ire of those opposed to conduct of ADC polls and besides refusing to heed to the diktat to resign from the assembly.
Mention may be made that residence of the Manipur Tribal Development minister, DD Thaisii at TNK village in Senapati district was also burned down by miscreants on June 2 last, destroying properties worth several lakhs of rupees.
Also, houses of over 20 ADC candidates were ransacked by anti-election forces across the four Naga dominated hill districts for defying the diktat to withdraw their candidatures.
Counting of votes for the ADC polls held scheduled for June 7(Monday) has been postponed by an order issued by the State Election Commission on Saturday.
The postponement came in the wake of incomplete conduct of polls in respect of some polling stations under for Churachandpur, Tamenglong and Ukhrul District Councils.
With the announcement of re-poll on June 11 and 16, district election offices have also started preparations in their respective districts.
District Electoral Officer (DEO) Tamenglong district has asked polling personnel who have been assigned to report immediately to the DEO.
Re-poll will be held in 155 polling stations in Tamenglong district where polling could not be completed on June 2 owing to disturbances and allegations of booth capturing at some other polling stations.
In Ukhrul district, re-poll will be held in one polling station, 23/8- K Leihaoram Primary school under Kasom Khullen District Council Constituency of Ukhrul Autonomous District of Ukhrul on June 7,Monday. The re-poll in the station was necessitated as ballot papers were burnt by miscreants on June 2 last.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News