Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
75.35% turn out in Manipur ADC re-poll
Correspondent IMPHAL, JUN 12:
Published on 12 Jun. 2010 9:56 PM IST
Print  Text Size

There was fresh polling for at least 18 polling stations in Tamenglong district on Friday. The ballot boxes arrived in Imphal today and was deposited at the strong room of Imphal West DC office where counting of votes for ADC election held in two phases are to be conducted.
An overall turn out in the 18 polling stations was recorded at 75.35 percent even as no votes were cast in two polling stations, official reports from the state election commission said.
Highest turn out of voters was recorded at Tungkhojang polling station by 19-Dolang DCC at 99.36 % while the lowest turn out was recorded at 3% in one of the polling station in 7-Magulong DCC.
Re-polling was held in as many as 27 polling stations in eight ADC constituencies in Tamenglong district with heavy security as the polling on these stations on June 2 last was disturbed due to the violent incidents.
Polling was held at four polling stations in 7-Magulong DCC, five in 8-Charamram DCC, one in 9-Oinamlong DCC, four in 16 Awangkhul DCC, four in 18-Longmai DCC, five in 19-Dolang DCC, one in 21-Longjan DCC and three in 24-Longpi DCC.
Reports said the polling in all the stations concluded peacefully amidst the boycott called by UNC and other district based civil bodies in Naga dominated hill districts of Tamenglong, Ukhrul, Chandel and Senapati.
The date of counting is likely to announced after the fresh polls are conducted in the remaining polling stations on June 16, the source added.
It may be mentioned that UNC with the support of many district based civil bodies in the four Naga dominated hill districts were boycotting the election to ADCs rejecting the Manipur (Hill Areas) District Council Act, 2008.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2