Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
State signs SSA
Published on 28 Jul. 2010 12:04 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Nagaland was among the 24 states and union territories which signed the state support agreement (SSA) with the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI). Informing this to the Lok Sabha on Tuesday, the union minister for road transport and highways Kamal Nath said some state governments had sought clarifications pertaining to some of the provisions in SSA, especially those relating to restrictions on the construction of competing roads, additional toll ways, levying of local taxes, etc. After receiving the clarifications, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Uttarakhand, Orissa and Meghalaya have signed the SSA, the minister informed. Amongst the states which have not signed the SSA so far include Bihar, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, and Kerala. While the Uttar Pradesh government signed the SSA on January 13 last, it subsequently withdrew on March 26. SSA is an umbrella agreement which is applicable to the National Highways projects being undertaken after signing of the agreement. The SSA does not prevent the state governments from undertaking significant road development in their respective states.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News