Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
State still without Human Rights Commission
Published on 29 Jul. 2010 12:38 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Nagaland is among eight other states in the county which have not constituted State Human Rights Commission despite request from government and National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) to constitute state HRC at the earliest.
The states which have not constituted SHRCs include Arunachal Pradesh, Haryana, Goa, Jharkhand, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Uttrakhand. Other nineteen states including Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Sikkim have already constituted SHRC.
In a written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today, the union minister of state in the ministry of home affairs Ajay Maken said government of India and NHRC were keen that every state set up SHRCs.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News