Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Straight fight for NPCC post
Correspondent Kohima, Sept 11(NPN):
Published on 12 Sep. 2010 12:39 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Election for the post of president of the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) will be contested by two MLAs who are related through marriage after the election process ends on Sunday while the election will be held on September 17 and results declared the same day.
Current NPCC President I. Imkong and S.I Jamir are the only contestants for the same post. Since none of the two are withdrawing from the race, both are engaged in hectic lobbying within the Congress rank and file to obtain the desired votes for victory.
S.I. Jamir who had earlier declared his candidature during an interaction with the media persons, when contacted by Nagaland Post confirmed he was standing for election as president of NPCC and flatly rejected any question of withdrawing from the race.
“Who said that I will lose the election if there is a contest” he asked and which clearly revealed that there was no chance of any consensus for the party post. Sungit said “I don’t know, if he (I.Imkong) will withdraw from his side” adding that only if that happens then there would be no contest.
On the other hand, incumbent president I. Imkong also confirmed that he was very much in the race for the post of NPCC president. He also ruled out any likelihood of seeking consensus in order to avoid election. He also revealed that he had the support of eight elected members while his opponent has the support of the remaining eleven. “I rely on the support of the district representatives”, he admitted.
When asked about the likelihood of the AICC president intervening to maintain party unity, Imkong replied in negative. He said when there is election, AICC cannot have any say but it is another matter with regard to intervening for consensus.
There are altogether 82 electoral votes which includes one representative each from all 60 assembly constituencies, 11 DCC presidents, 4-former PCC presidents, 3- CLP quota and 4-frontal chiefs who will select the posts of the party president, 6 vice presidents, treasurer, 6 AICC members, at least 10 Pradesh Election Committee members and 20 Executives.
However, the NPCC presently has only 81 electoral votes as there was no representative from Dimapur-III A/C.
The AICC Working Committee has fixed the election to the PCC President and vice presidents, PCC Executives, AICC members and Pradesh Election Committees of the party in the state along with the rest of the country starting from September 12 . The filing of nominations will be opened till the next day followed by scrutiny on September 14 and last date of withdrawal on September 15.
Though filing of nomination was scheduled on September 12, however being a Sunday, the process will be held on Monday in Nagaland.
PRO in-charge of Nagaland H K Patil who will oversee the entire process of the conduct of election is likely to arrive Nagaland, party sources said.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News