Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Nitish to be sworn-in today
Patna, Nov 25 (PTI/IANS):
Published on 25 Nov. 2010 11:41 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Nitish Kumar and Sushil Kumar Modi were on Thursday unanimously elected leaders of JD(U) and BJP legislature parties in Bihar, a day after NDA notched up a landslide victory.
Kumar will be sworn-in as the chief minister with Mr. Modi as his deputy at the Gandhi Maidan at 2.30 p.m. on Friday. Governor Devanand Konwar would administer oath of office and secrecy.
The 115-member JD(U) Legislature Party, at a meeting here, elected Kumar as its leader. Kumar’s name was proposed by senior party leader and Bochaha MLA Ramai Ram and seconded, among others, by Sahid Ali Khan, elected to the State Assembly from Sursand, besides state JD(U) chief Vijay Kumar Choudhary.
Modi was elected unanimously the leader of the 91-member BJP Legislature Party at a separate meeting held here in presence of senior party leaders, including Arun Jaitley, Ananth Kumar, Dharmendra Pradhan and state party chief C P Thakur.
Modi’s name was proposed by senior party MLA Nand Kishore Yadav and seconded by his colleagues, including Ashwini Choubey and others present at the meeting.
Addressing the newly-elected members of his party, JD(U) national president Sharad Yadav said it was an “unprecedented victory” as Nitish Kumar had tried his level best to bring to the grass-roots level the ideology of veteran socialists late Ram Manohar Lohia and late Karpoori Thakur.
5 Bihar ministers not celebrating Nitish victory
Though their chief minister has pulled off a stupendous victory in Bihar, but it is not celebration time for five legislators of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), who lost despite being ministers.
The defeat of Ramnath Thakur, Bhagwan Singh Kushwaha, Ramanand Singh of the Janata Dal-United (JD-U) and Ramnarain Mandal and Avadesh Narain Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has surprised many in the two ruling parties.
“A defeat despite a huge wave in favour of their parties indicate they were unpopular in their respective constituencies,” a BJP leader said.
The NDA bagged 206 of 243 seats. While the JD-U upped its tally from 88 in 2005 to 115 now, the BJP increased its numbers from 55 to 91.
“There is no celebration, saheb was defeated,” a staffer at Thakur’s official residence told IANS here Thursday.
Thakur, who was information and public relations minister, is the son of former Bihar chief minister Karpoori Thakur who was the political guru of many top politicians of today. He lost the electoral battle for the Samastipur assembly seat.
The response was more or less similar at the houses of his other four ministerial colleagues who lost.
“We are frustrated, there is no joy despite the NDA returning to power,” a JD-U worker close to Kushwaha said.
Kushwaha, the rural development minister, was defeated in Jagdishpur assembly constitueny and transport minister Ramanad Singh was defeated in the pol for the Parbatta seat.
Bihar’s animal husbandry minister Ram Narayan Mandal was defeated in Banka constituency and labour minister Awdesh Narayan Singh was defeated in Dehri assembly constituency.
JD-U leader Shayam Rajak, who won the polls in Phulwarisharief, said it was unfortunate that some ministers had tasted defeat.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2