Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
News in brief
Published on 6 Jan. 2011 1:02 AM IST
Print  Text Size

DIMAPUR, JAN 5 (NPN): Three habitual burglars were arrested by Dimapur police after they were found to be involved in a theft which took place at Station Road on December 20 last. The trio identified as Kubir Uddin (18), Raju Das aka Bablu (21) and Raju Hussain (18) were arrested after a shop owner lodged a complaint stating goods worth some few lakhs were stolen. Based on their confession, police further arrested two persons identified as Mahinder Das (34) and Kalia Nayak (23) for receiving the stolen goods and also recovered the same. (Staff Reporter)
Offices in Mkg back to normal
DIMAPUR: With Christmas and New Year celebrations over, state government employees have gradually buckled down to their normal work in all offices in Mokokchung town. An official bulletin informed that in a move to ensure normal office in all government offices, officers from district administration are conducting surprise checking in all government offices. EAC Establishment, Mokokchung, Arikumba said office attendance was satisfactory and normal office work had gradually picked up in the town.
DPC grateful
DIMAPUR: Dimapur Press Club (DPC) held its annual picnic on December 31 at New Chumukedima participated by majority of its members. In this regard, DPC has expressed gratitude to state chief minister, Neiphiu Rio for extending financial help towards DPC’s New Year program, T. Shuya for allotting his restaurant free of cost and All Nagaland Private Bus Union (ANPBU) for providing transportation.
SSU session held
DIMAPUR: Satami Students’ Union (SSU) held its 51st session from December 27 to 29 with lecturer Agape College Dimapur Abeto Tisca as the main speaker. The student union has also set up a 15 member drafting committee and three units-Zunheboto, Kohima and Dimapur presidents. Meanwhile, the annual session concluded with a picnic on December 30 at Tizu River.
LSU golden jubilee celebrated
KOHIMA: Longtsung Students Union (LSU) observed its golden jubilee from December 28 to 29 last at Longtsung village under the theme ‘Paradigm shift-towards excellence’. C. Mozhui, secretary state agricultural marketing board was the chief guest and Rev. Zanao Mozhui, Pastor, Dimapur Lotha Baptist Church the theme speaker. Dr. N.Y. Mozhui, International Counseling Centre for Christ, Delhi and Mhabemo Mozhui, Home Evangelist, Kohima Lotha Baptist Church were the speakers. Release of jubilee souvenir, unveiling of jubilee monolith, felicitation program for first achievers in Longtsung, greetings, extravaganza musical night etc., marked celebration.
LMRSU new executive council
DIMAPUR: Lotha Middle Range Students’ Union (LMRSU) held its general election on December 13 at Lakhuti village and elected a new executive council for the tenure 2010-2012. The new team would be headed by Benathung Odyuo as president from Morakjo SU, Renbithung Ezung as general secretary from Lakhuti SU, Y Longshithung Kikon as finance secretary from Mekukla SU, Yanlumo Kithan as finance secretary from Akuk Old SU, Nrithung Odyuo as education and statistical secretary from Sungro town SU and Nzanthung Patton as games and sports secretary from Meshangphen SU.
HASSU fetes
DIMAPUR: HASSU has congratulated Kavi K. Swu of Diphupar ‘A’ unit and Alino Sumi of Purana bazaar on winning the Mr. and Miss. HASSU 2010 title respectively.
ECK meeting
DIMAPUR: Eureka Club Kiphire (ECK) has convened its re-organization meeting on January 12, 10am at the residence of Hobb’S.S Thonger, chairman sports development Eureka club.
ESSU golden jubilee
DIMAPUR: Eastern Sumi Students’ Union (ESSU) golden jubilee would be held from January 14-16 at Aghiinato under the theme ‘Beyond the achieved’ with Ihezhe Zhimomi, ex-minister as the inaugural session chief guest and Zhetovi Yepthomi, founding ex-minister as the valedictory session guest of honour. Tokheho Yepthomi, MLA would be the introductory session special guest, exhortation by Pukhayi Sumi, ex-minister. L K Achumi, retd district & session judge, Nagaland & president WSH, Vihuto Yepthomi, retd secretary government of Nagaland, L N Akato Sema, registrar, Guwahati high court, N Hushili Sema, secretary women development, Viccashe Yepthomi, DIG training & borders Nagaland, V C Hokuto, retd deputy inspector of schools and Shetovi Phuleshe, deputy director, border affairs Nagaland would greet the jubilee. Kughazhe Yeputhomi, additional director, art & culture HOD Kohima and Hoto Yepthomi, joint director, land resources Kohima would be the speakers.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News