Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Tribute paid to 13/12 martyrs
Published on 14 Dec. 2010 12:03 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Political leaders on Monday paid tributes to the nine people, including eight security personnel, killed in the December 13, 2001 terror attack on Parliament.
Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, Rajya Sabha Chairman and Vice President Mohammad Hamid Ansari, Leader of Opposition Sushma Swaraj and senior leaders and MPs of all political parties paid their tribute to the martyrs on Monday morning.
Officers and staff of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha secretariats also joined the leaders to pay tributes to those who died in that attack, which almost brought India and Pakistan to the brink of a war.
In the attack, five heavily armed gunmen said to be Pakistanis - Islamabad denies the charge - stormed the Indian parliament and opened indiscriminate fire, killing nine people instantly. The victims included five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) trooper, two parliament watch and ward staff and a gardener. A journalist who was injured died later. All five terrorists were shot dead.
A year later, four accused, including Afzal Guru, who were arrested for the attack, were found guilty after a trial.
“My salute to the martyrs who lost their lives in the attack on Parliament this day. Nation wants to know when will the guilty be punished?,” tweeted Leader of opposition Sushma Swaraj. Guru, who is said to be a Jaish-e-Mohammed militant, was the only accused to be awarded the death penalty. The sentence has been stayed as his mercy petition is pending.
The Supreme Court upheld the capital punishment given to him for his role in the attack. Guru’s wife, Tabassum, filed a mercy petition before the president after the apex court’s verdict.
(With inputs from IANS)

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2