Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Church dedication and ordination held
Published on 16 Dec. 2010 12:30 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Reverend Deacon Philip Yanpvuthung was ordained a priest on Wednesday at Sacred Heart Church, Bhandari by Archbishop of Imphal, Most. Rev. Dominic Lumon.
Elevating the Deacon to the second order of the hierarchy of priesthood the Archbishop said, “Rev. Philip is ordained a priest not for the family, not for the parish or for the tribe, but for the Diocese of Kohima and for the universal Church.”
Marking the twin celebration of the Sacred Heart Church, Bhadari, the ordination followed the Silver Jubilee of the erection of the parish and the Blessing and Dedication of the newly built Church which was officiated by the Archbishop.
Welcoming the congregation the Parish Priest, Rev. Fr. Antonysamy, thanked God for the manifold blessing upon the parish, particularly for the gift of a priest from its soil.
He also recalled the services of the first parish priest Rev. Fr. Davis msfs and other Parish Priests and Assistant Priests, all the Sisters of Providence and all the parishioners who had served and were part of the parish in the last twenty five years. In his first address as a newly ordained priest, Rev. Fr. Philip thanked his parents Yibemo Mathew and Lochumi and his brothers and sisters for their generosity in offering him to the Church.
He also thanked all those who were beside him during his formation years to priesthood. He particularly recalled his teachers in the school, formators in St. Xavier Seminary, Jalukie, Newman Bible College, Chumukedima, Good Shepherd Seminary, Dimapur and Oriens Theological College, Shillong. Speaking on behalf of the family the Additional Deputy Commissioner, Peter Lichamo, who is also the uncle of newly ordained priest, thanked the community members and everyone who offered their help to make the programme a success.
Among the congregation the dignitaries present for the occasion were Commissioner and Secretary, School Edcuation, Mhathung Kithan, Deputy commissioner, Wokha, Rovolutuo Nicholas, Additional Director, Geology and Mining, Thomas Kikon, Joint Secretary, Agri., K. Libanthung, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Meluri, Peter Lichamo and Commandant, 7 NAP, Philip.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2