Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
Nagaland observes National Voters’ Day

Chief Electoral Officer, J. Alam (third from left) and Kohima DC Bieu Angami along with some new voters of Nagaland on National Voters’ Day.
Correspondent KOHIMA, JAN 25 (NPN):
Published on 26 Jan. 2011 5:11 PM IST
Print  Text Size

Joining the rest of the country, Nagaland observed the 1st National Voters’ Day here at DC’s conference hall on Tuesday.
Chief Electoral Officer, J. Alam who was the chief guest said that the need of the hour was the participation of young voters to elect good people and let democracy function in its true sense. To make the slogan of the day “greater participation for a stronger democracy” effective, Alam said underscored the involvement of young voters in the electoral process. Pointing out that poor people, the rural population and older people vote more than rich, urban and the young, the CEO called for active participation of everyone, stating “vote is your voice through which you can let your voice be heard.”
He urged the people especially the younger lot to understand the power of voting and exercise their rights.
Giving a brief profile of elections, N. Moa Aier, deputy CEO Nagaland, said that since its statehood in 1963, Nagaland has had 11 general elections, 9 residential elections and 30 parliamentary elections. It has a total of 12,99,227 general electors and 3039 service electors; and 1790 polling stations spread across the state.
During the programme, the chief guest gave away election voting cards and badges to new voters in the state. Winners of SMS slogan competition held in commemoration of the day were also felicitated. From more than 2000 entries, 20 were shortlisted out of which Venus from Dimapur was adjudged winner of the competition for his slogan “Your vote is your voice, let your voice be heard. Vote sincerely.” He was awarded cash prize of Rs.5000. Cole Lasuh from Pfutsero came second and was awarded Rs.3000 while T. Nukshi Yaden from Tuli Town and Swetol Sothu from Viswema came in the third position, getting Rs.2000 each. The remaining finalists were also awarded with prize money.
Participants of the gathering later took the National Voters’ Day pledge led by DC Kohima, Bieu Angami to contribute towards fair election.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News