Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
UNC demand unacceptable: GPRN/NSCN
Published on 26 Feb. 2011 12:49 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Describing the September 14,2010 demand of the United Naga Council of Manipur for an alternative political arrangement under the Indian constitution as “unacceptable”, the Shepoumaramth Region, GPRN/NSCN has said it “flagrantly” contradicted the historical and political rights of the Naga people.
According to a joint statement issued by 12 members of the region, the issue regarding the UNC’s demand was discussed at the emergency meeting was held at the Oking on February 24.
The Shepoumaramth Region pointed out that the UNC was a civil society body and has been a part of the Forum for Naga Reconciliation (FNR) to ensure reconciliation among Naga political groups.
The signatories said that the UNC, being a party to many reconciliation meetings, its demand had surprised the Naga people by placing a political demand on the government of India for an alternative political arrangement under the Indian constitution. “We believe that the UNC is not a political body and therefore it is not a right platform to make any political demand,” the 12 members said.
Shepoumaramth Region GPRN/NSCN said it would not be a part of UNC’s “diabolical stand” and described it as “too ambiguous and bereft of political wisdom.”
The signatories termed it as “double standard” the stand of the UNC in simultaneously demanding alternative political arrangement while being a part of the FNR.
“FNR is for Naga Reconciliation and Unity, UNC is doing the opposite,” they added. Charging the UNC of being the “mastermind” behind the demand to make Ukhrul the summer capital of Manipur, the 12 members said there was also a “whisper” that Phungyar under Ukhrul district would be made a separate district. They said the UNC and its leadership cannot claim to be innocent in all these divisive activities.
“For years, the UNC has bluntly obeyed its mentors, ignoring the stark reality of the Southern Nagas. Any demand that contradicts Naga political stand is against the will of the Naga people and therefore shall be resisted in strongest terms,” they said.
The members said that the dreams, aspirations and brotherhood of the Nagas should not be destroyed by surge of selfish emotions of few individuals in the name of UNC.
They recalled that the FNR was formed in 2008 mandated by Nagas everywhere including tribal hohos from southern Nagaland and mentioned the positive developments that have helped the Naga political groups and the Naga people in general to see the “Indo-Naga” political issue through common vision and approach. “When the three top leaders signed the Covenant of Reconciliation in June 2009, was the UNC deaf and blind?” they asked. It was stated that differing Naga political groups have since then buried their differences to pursue a common agenda. The signatories also made mention of the Monyakshu Conclave of July 15, 2010, September 18, 2010 Summit at Dimapur, the December 14, 2010 declaration by three political groups to unite etc and said these were memorable achievements of the Nagas under FNR.
The members said if these achievements could not restrain the UNC from pursuing its own agenda, there was sufficient reason to believe that UNC has committed treason against the Naga people.
“Political arrangement is not bread and butter of UNC. It is never a competent body to settle political matters. Those people driving UNC must immediately stop employing divisive politics,” they said.
The 12 members said maintained that the Shepoumaramth region would not be a part of UNC’s demand for alternative political arrangement under the constitution of India. They appealed to the Naga people in general and those inhabiting the four districts of Manipur in particular to wake up to the reality around them.
The 12 signatories of Shepoumaramth region GPRN/NSCN included: D.T Lincoln, member, National Political Advisory Council (NPAC); S.K Peter, kilonser; L.D John; K.S Solomon; Ashuhru Ben; P Caiphas, chairman, Shepoumaramth Region; Th. Veishe George, secretary, Shepoumaramth Region; Maj. Z D Akho; Maj. Ngaoni Micheal; Naga Army; Maj. Pfokriihrii James; Maj. Shemshem and Maj. Dihe.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News