Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
By-poll candidates to file nominations
Published on 14 Apr. 2011 12:36 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Congress candidate Dr. S. C. Jamir and NPF candidate Toshipokba, contesting the ensuing by-election to the 26 Aonglenden Assembly Constituency would be filing their nomination papers on April 15 and 16 respectively. NPCC office bearer revealed this while talking to Nagaland Post today. It may be mentioned that the Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee election committee finalized the name of former governor of Goa and Maharastra Dr. S. C. Jamir as the party’s official candidate for the by-election on April 4 last and the official declaration was held at Ungma village later on April 8. The ruling NPF’s Central Working Committee had cleared the name of Toshipokba as the party’s candidate on April 8 last and the official declaration and issue of party ticket along with the official launching of the campaign was held at Ungma village on April 11. The NCP had earlier toyed with fielding its candidate but later backed out from the race. With no other political parties fielding candidates neither independents, the forthcoming by-election is likely to be to be heading for a straight fight between the ruling NPF candidate and opposition Congress.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News
  • 1
  • 2