Breaking News
Nagaland Post Logo
You are here:  Skip Navigation LinksHome » Show story
70 pc turnout recorded in Assam’s phase I polling
Published on 5 Apr. 2011 12:58 AM IST
Print  Text Size

Voting for the first phase of Assembly elections in Assam ended Monday with an estimated 70 percent polling recorded, officials said.
An election official said the voting percentage could go up as reports from interior places were still pouring in.
Voting ended at 3 p.m. in the 13 Assam districts where polling was held in 62 of the 126 Assembly seats.
The fate of 485 candidates was sealed in the ballot; of these, 38 are women nominees.
The Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had fielded 62 candidates each for the first phase, while the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) had put up 51 nominees. There are 157 independent candidates in the fray for the first phase.
A total of 9.6 million voters in the second phase elections April 11 in 64 seats would decide the fate of 496 candidates. Results are due on May 13.
Among the prominent candidates whose fate was sealed in the first phase vote include Chief minister Tarun Gogoi, Power Minister Pradyut Bordoloi, state BJP president Ranjit Dutta and senior AGP leader Brindaban Goswami.
“I am confident the Congress party would be able to make a political hat trick by forming the government for the third straight term,” Gogoi told IANS soon after casting his vote in his home district of Jorhat in eastern Assam.
Gogoi is contesting from the Titabar Assembly seat in Jorhat district.“People would vote us for good governance and all-round development,” the chief minister said.
69 % turnout in KA
Diphu Correspondent Adds: Karbi Anglong district recorded an anticipated 69 percent polling, officials said. However the percentage may go up after the arrival of the polling officials from interior places, as most of the polling stations under Karbi Anglong district are located in the interiors.
Bokajan constituency recorded 67 % but the figure may rise, the high altitude Baithalangso constituency recorded 67 % till filing of this report. Highest polling was recorded for the Howraghat seat; here the percentage may exceed 70%. In comparison, Diphu recorded a low turnout, 66% was recorded till 6.30 p.m.
The KLNLF cadres lodged in various designated camps in this district cast their votes through postal ballots.
The EC had also decided that the Assistant Returning Officers/Nodal Officers appointed for the various camps would be responsible for providing the required forms to the voters in the camps.
The sealed envelopes containing postal ballot would be dropped in the drop box by the notified electors of the concerned Assembly constituencies as per the EC notification and after consultation with the Central Government.

Comments:(0) Login or Register to post your Comment
(Available for registered users only)
More News