Agatha, Pala register wins in M’laya

Agatha, Pala register wins in M’laya
Agatha Sangma (File)
Correspondent SHILLONG, MAY 23 | Publish Date: 5/23/2019 1:01:23 PM IST

Former Union Minister and National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Agatha Sangma has made her way back to national politics by winning the Tura Lok Sabha seat, while  incumbent Congress member Vincent Pala retained the Shillong seat in Meghalaya.

Agatha, 38, who is the younger sister of Chief Minister Conrad Sangma and daughter of former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Sangma, defeated her nearest rival former Chief Minister Mukul Sangma of the Congress by a margin of 63,775 votes.

Agatha polled 3,03, 848 votes while Mukul got 2,40,073  votes.

The NPP is an ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA government.

Former union minister and Congress leader Pala defeated his nearest rival, United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate Jemino Mawthoh by a thumping margin of 1, 52,139 votes.

Pala polled 4, 19,232 votes while Mawthoh secured 2, 67,093 votes

The Congress has not won from Tura Lok Sabha seat after former Lok Sabha Speaker, late Purno Sangma parted ways with the Congress. The last time the Congress won from Tura through late Purno Agitok Sangma was in 1998 Lok Sabha polls.  

Agatha’s victory has also established that no other candidates could defeat the Sangma family from Tura Lok Sabha seat so far.

“It was a very tough fight (contesting against a former Chief Minister) but it has been a very fruitful election.  I want to thank everybody who spend so much of the time and energy  for campaign for this election,” Agatha told journalists in Tura. 

Meanwhile, the NPP has increased its strength to 21 in the 60-member Assembly with its candidate, Ferlin CA Sangma winning the bye election to Selsella Assembly constituency on Thursday.

Ferlin defeated Congress candidate, June Eliana R. Marak by a margin of 4,369 votes. The victory has helped the NPP to emerge as the single largest party in the state.

The bye-election to Selsella Assembly constituency was necessitated following the demise of sitting Congress MLA and former minister, Clement R Marak the husband of June Eliana R. Marak.

Ferlin polled 15,781 votes while June got 11,412 votes

With this win from Selsella constituency, the NPP now has 21 MLAs in the Assembly.

The NPP is leading the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government with the support of its partners, the UDP - 7, BJP - 2, People’s Democratic Front (PDF) – 4, Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) – 2, NCP – 1, and three Independents.

Nagaland unit of NPP congratulates Agatha Sangma

The National People’s Party Nagaland unit, in a press release by its General Secretary – IPR, Ricky Ozukum has congratulated the people of Meghalaya “who have laid their faith and trust in the leadership of NPP and one of its youngest leaders, Agatha Sangma.”

The release further stated that it is overwhelmed by the landmark victory of its state in-charge Agatha Sangma for winning the Tura Lok Sabha Constituency and wishes her the best in her future endeavors “in carrying the responsibilities entrusted on her for the welfare of North East and its people.”

NPP Nagaland also congratulated  Ferlin Sangma for winning the  Bye-Election to Selsella Assembly Constituency in the State of Meghalaya. 


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus