All noise

By Nagaland Post | Publish Date: 8/10/2019 12:21:35 PM IST

 Soon after the Centre abrogated Article 370 that granted special status to Jammu and Kashmir on August 5, there were apprehensions among various other special category states about the impending eventuality. Article 370 of the Constitution was a 'temporary provision' which promised to grant autonomous status to Jammu and Kashmir and limited Parliament's powers to make laws for the state. The article had granted a super state status to J&K in having its own constitution and flag besides insulation from any law passed by parliament. Aside from Jammu and Kashmir, there are ten other states under special category such as - Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttarakhand. Initially, Assam, Nagaland and Jammu & Kashmir were granted special status but from 1974-1979 then later, five more states were added under the special category such as-Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Sikkim and Tripura.After the 14th Finance Commission report; the share of the states in the union taxes has increased to 42%. As a consequence to this, the Centre moved ahead in delinked many schemes from central support and allow the states to implement on their own with increased revenues. The downturn for Nagaland began after the change in funding pattern in 1989 when ten percent grant was turned into soft loan. Of all special category states under Article 371, Nagaland has a special provision under Article 371A which gives the state specific guarantee from any law or act passed by parliament unless they are passed by an overwhelming resolution by the Nagaland Legislative Assembly. The special provisions under 371 A is not contained in other special category states . Nagaland has special guarantees by being insulated from any act of parliament in respect of customary laws and ownership of land and its resources. If there is apprehension about abrogation of Article 371A, then Nagaland has been given a raw deal in matters of central funding. The change in funding pattern in 1989 was a big blow to the 16 Point Agreement signed between the government of India under prime minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru and the Nagas under Naga People’s Convention on July 26,1960 which formed the basis for creation of Nagaland as the 16th state under the Union of India on December 3,1963. As per Article 371A, the government of India was to provide funding to the state out of the consolidated fund. This was clearly mentioned in Clause 11 of the 16-Point Agreement which formed the basis for creation of Nagaland as the 16th state of the Indian union on July 26, 1960. Clause 11 states that: “To supplement the revenues of Nagaland, there will be need for the Government of India to pay out of the Consolidated Fund of Nagaland, and a grant-in-aid towards meeting the cost of administration. Proposals for the above grants shall be prepared and submitted by the Government of Nagaland to the Government of India for their approval. The Government will have general responsibility for ensuring that the funds made available by the Government of India are expended for the purposes for which they have been approved.” However, despite nullifying the financial aspect of the agreement, the state did not take up the issue in earnest except whimpering protests. Even on ownership of land and resources, laws enacted by the state have been shot down. The point is what is there left to be apprehensive about?


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: npdesk@gmail.com Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267, e-mail:npostadvt@gmail.com



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus