Assam polls: 6 suspended after 181 votes cast in booth with 90 voters

GUWAHATI, APR 5 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 4/5/2021 12:17:49 PM IST

Six polling officials have been suspended in Assam after the Election Commission found that 181 votes had been cast at a booth in Dima Hasao district that had only 90 registered voters.

The booth is in the Haflong constituency that voted in the second phase on April 1. Officially the constituency- won by the BJP’s Bir Bhadra Hagjer in 2016- recorded only 74 per cent polling.

Sources said the poll body plans to issue a re-poll order for this booth, which was an auxiliary polling station for the main centre. An official order to this effect has yet to be issued.

“The Presiding and 1st Polling officer, in their statements, have admitted that they allowed the voters registered against the main polling station to cast their votes in the auxiliary polling station,” a press release from the Election Commission said. 

According to PTI, Seikhosiem Lhangum (sector officer), Prahlad Ch Roy (presiding officer), Parameswar Charangsa (1st polling officer), Swaraj Kanti Das (2nd polling officer) and Lalzamlo Thiek (3rd polling officer) have been suspended, with immediate effect.

The poll body cited “dereliction of duty” in its suspension order.

Assam is holding a three-phase Assembly election that began on March 27. 

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus