Centurion FC retain NSF Martyrs’ Trophy

Centurion FC retain NSF Martyrs’ Trophy
Champions of NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy, Centurion FC with the trophy and cheque during the prize distribution ceremony at Kohima local ground on Saturday. (NP)
Correspondent KOHIMA OCT 19(NPN) | Publish Date: 10/19/2019 12:09:42 PM IST

Defending champions Centurion FC retained the NSF Martyr’s Memorial Trophy for the second consecutive time after defeating Viswemi FC in the final at Kohima local ground on Saturday.

A goal each from Vekhruto Resu and Yhunshalo Kemp was enough for Centurion FC to seal the victory over Viswemi FC 2-0.   Playing in front of the packed spectators in the state capital, Viswemi FC players failed to deal with the pressure as Vekhruto Resu opened the scoring for Centurion FC in the fourth minute following a poor clearance from Viswemi team.

Viswemi team took time to settle down as Centurion held on the lead in the first half. Despite numerous attempts, Viswemi FC failed to create clear chances as the opponent defenders cleared away the cross after cross. Centurion custodian Medophrezo Kezieo, whose team had kept clean sheet in all the six matches of the tournament, was kept quiet for much of the game.   

In the second half, Centurion team put pressure to double the lead as their talisman Yhunshalo Kemp struck the winning goal in the 81th minute to retain their title for the second time.  

At the end of the match, Centurion custodian Medophrezo Kezieo who kept his clean sheet throughout the tournament was awarded the golden gloves. Centurion FC defender Nighatu Assumi, who also won the best defender of Dimapur Football League recently, was adjudged the best defender. Centurion FC walked home with a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh along with trophy and citations, the runners-up Viswemi FC received Rs. 1.20 lakh along with trophy and citations. The two semi-finalists MVYO Meriema and MTYO Medziphema received Rs 30,000 each.

The player of the tournament was awarded to Viswemi FC captain Keduvikho Mekro who took the team to the final of the tournament. He received a two-wheeler (motorbike) along with citations.

In the individual awards, Medophrezo Kezieo (Centurion FC) was named the best goalkeeper, best defender: Nighatu Assumi (Centurion FC), best midfielder: Visalie Mezhü (MTYO Medziphema), highest scorer: Vizotuolie Lhousi (MVYO Meriema). The individual awardees received Rs 10,000 each with citations.

K.G. Kenye, MP, Rajya Sabha graced the valedictory function as the special guest.

The month long tournament was organised by Angami Students Union with the theme “Goal for Peace.” The tournament is organised every year in respect and honour of two martyrs’ late Kekuojalie Sachii of Kohima village and late Vikhozo Yhoshü of Kigwema Village.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus