Cong crisis deepens as 10 out of 15 Goa MLAs switch to BJP

NEW DELHI, JUL 10 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 7/10/2019 11:31:45 AM IST

While Karanataka remains on edge due to the latest political crisis in the JDS-Congress government, Congress sunk deeper on Wednesday with 10 MLAs in Goa approaching the Speaker, wanting to join the BJP.

This comes even before the situation in Karnataka could be resolved and MLAs continued to resign even on Wednesday.

The Goa MLAs, led by Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar, met the Seaker Rajesh Patnekar in the evening and gave him a letter informing him about them breaking away from the Congress.

Congress which had emerged as the single largest party with 17 MLAs in the 2017 assembly polls is now left with only five MLAs. Those who are not part of Wednesday’s split are four former chief ministers– Pratapsingh Rane, Digambar Kamat, Ravi Naik and Luizinho Faleiro. Curtorim MLA Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco has also remained with the party.

With the new development, chief minister Pramod Sawant is set to drop all the three ministers from BJP’s ally Goa Forward Party (GFP)– Vijai Sardesai, Jayesh Salgaonkar and Vinod Paliencar.

Sources in the BJP say that five new ministers will be inducted. With this development, BJP’s strength in the assembly goes up to 27 in the 40-member house. 


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus