CSK crush DC to enter IPL final

Visakhapatnam, May 10 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 5/10/2019 12:39:16 PM IST

Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson hit half-centuries as Chennai Super Kings crushed Delhi Capitals by 6 wickets in Qualifier 2 in Vizag on Friday to storm into the final of 2019 Indian Premier League. CSK, who will play their 8th IPL final on May 12, face Mumbai Indians in a bid to defend their title.

Chennai Super Kings have now reached the final in 8 of 10 seasons of the Indian Premier League. They were suspended for 2 seasons in 2016 and 2017 but came back with a bang in 2018 to win the IPL for the 3rd time. CSK had finished second in the points table - they had lost Qualifier 2 to Mumbai Indians on May 7 but grabbed the second chance with both hands in Qualifier 2 against Delhi Capitals who were eyeing their maiden final.

Chasing 148 for a place in the title clash, CSK openers Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson started watchfully but picked the ante after they got their eyes in. While du Plessus hit 50 off 39 balls before falling to Trent Boult, Shane Watson was dismissed by Amit Mishra for a 32-ball 50. But by the time Watson exited, CSK were cruising along at 109 for 2 in 12.2 overs.

CSK’s triumph was scripted by their bowlers who restricted a power-packed DC batting line-up to a modest 147 for 9. Dwayne Bravo (2/19), Ravindra Jadeja (2/23), Deepak Chahar (2/28) and Harbhajan Singh (2/31) shared eight wickets between them as Delhi Capitals struggled to 147 for nine.

Sent in to bat, DC made a shaky start with Prithvi Shaw (5) and Shikhar Dhawan (18 off 14) adding 21 runs in 2.3 overs before the former was caught plumb in front of the wicket by Chahar.

Shaw’s dismissal opened the floodgates as DC lost three wickets in quick time to slump to 75 for four in 11.3 overs. Dhawan was the next to depart, caught by MS Dhoni off Harbhajan and then Colin Munro (27) was holed at deep square-leg by Bravo off Jadeja.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer (13 of 18) too fell while going for a big shot, caught by Suresh Raina off Imran Tahir (1/28) in the 12th over. Axar Patel departed in the next over, hitting a short delivery of Bravo straight to Tahir at third man.

Rishabh Pant (38 off 25) and Sherfane Rutherford (10) shared 22 runs for the sixth wicket. Rutherford became Harbhajan’s second victim, followed by Keemo Paul who was cleaned up by Bravo’s perfect yorker in the 18th over.

The onus was on hard-hitting Pant to take DC to a challenging total but he too failed to cope up with the pressure, caught by Bravo at long-on off Chahar.

Towards the end, Amit Mishra (6 not out) and Ishant Sharma (10 not out off 3 balls) used their long handles to great effect and struck some lusty blows to take the Delhi side close to the 150-run mark.

Brief Scores:

DC: 147/9 (Rishabh Pant 38; D Bravo 2/19, R Jadeja 2/23, D Chahar 2/28, H Singh 2/31)

CSK: 151/4 (Faf du Plessis 50, Shane Watson 50; Trent Boult 1/20)

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus