Curran, Buttler, Kohli in Wisden Five

London, Apr 11 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 4/11/2019 1:25:41 PM IST

Sam Curran, Jos Buttler, Rory Burns, Tammy Beaumont and Virat Kohli have been named as Wisden’s Five Cricketers of the Year.

All-rounder Curran, 20, is the youngest Englishman to make the list in a century, having been named Man of the Series as England beat top-ranked Test nation India 4-1 at home last summer.

The Surrey player, who has taken 15 wickets and scored three fifties in his nine Tests to date, also earned a million-dollar IPL deal with Kings XI Punjab.

Jack Crawford, who was 19 when he was one of the five leading cricketers in 1907, was a younger recipient than Curran - excluding 1918 and 1919 when schoolboy cricketers were honoured following World War One.

Wisden editor Lawrence Booth, said: “Sam Curran was central to England’s 4-1 Test win over India, the world’s number one ranked side, turning the games at Edgbaston and Southampton with hard-hit half-centuries.

“He also removed India’s top three in eight balls at Edgbaston, and continued his form in Sri Lanka with a six-filled 64 in Pallekele.”

Buttler, a key component of England’s white-ball sides, made a triumphant return to the Test arena last May, scoring his maiden century in the format against India at Trent Bridge.

The 28-year-old, who has passed fifty nine times since his recall, is now Joe Root’s vice-captain.

Surrey captain Burns was selected by England after scoring a Championship-leading 1,359 runs in 2018 as he skippered his county to their first four-day title since 2002.

England Women opener Beaumont scored her side’s fastest T20 hundred, a 47-ball effort against South Africa, while her tally of 628 runs was a record for England in a home summer, trumping Jan Brittin’s 595 in 1984.

“It’s a real honour to be named as one of Wisden’s Five Cricketers of the Year,” said Beaumont. “To be recognised like this, with such a special award, is just so brilliant. When I was younger and first playing the game I remember people telling me I’d never play cricket for England because my hands were too small but deep down I always believed I could do it.”

“I was so proud of my three team-mates who won last year [Anya Shrubsole, Heather Knight and Nat Sciver] and it means a lot to follow in their footsteps and become the sixth woman to ever win this award.”

India captain Kohli rounds off the quintet after hitting 593 runs at 59.30, including two tons, during his team’s Test series in England.

The 30-year-old also made it an unprecedented three years in a row as Wisden’s leading male cricketer of the year, with his 2,735 runs in all formats besting Joe Root by more than 700.

Kohli’s fellow Indian Smriti Mandhana landed the women’s award, with Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan keeping his title as leading Twenty20 cricketer in the world.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus