Disunited and desperate

By Nagaland Post | Publish Date: 8/10/2018 12:36:14 PM IST

 Instead of holding on to the 118 votes it had calculated and getting a few more from fence sitters to cross the halfway mark, the Congress member B.K.Hariprasad who was candidate for the post of deputy chairman Rajya Sabha ultimately lost due to poor strategy and absenteeism. A total of 17 opposition MPs did not attend the session, as also the lone NPF member of the NDA. Had all the 17 opposition MPs voted then the tally would have been narrower. The reverse swing by the TRS and BJD worked in favour of the NDA while the abstention by opposition parties - AAP, PDP, SAD, Shiv Sena and YSRCP- only added the icing on the victory cake for the NDA. The NDA candidate from JDU Harivansh Narayan eventually won by getting 125 votes( the mark had come down to 114 after several parties decided to abstain). The opposition candidate and three-time parliamentarian of the Congress B.K.Hariprasad managed 105 votes. Hariprasad got a dozen votes less than expected. Although the opposition and non-NDA parties in the Rajya Sabha had more members but in the final tally, the NDA which had confirmed 123 votes got two extra. Before the voting, the AAP, PDP and YSRCP had informed that they would vote with the opposition. However, these parties eventually abstained and ensured that the NDA candidate won but with a narrow margin of 20 votes. NDA currently has 90 MPs in Rajya Sabha, which include- BJP (73), Bodoland People’s Front (1), JD(U) (6), Nominated (4), Naga People’s Front (1), Republican Party of India (A) (1), Shiromani Akali Dal (3) and Sikkim Democratic Front (1). The joint opposition, on the other hand, has 112 MPs in Rajya Sabha. These include- Aam Aadmi Party (3), Trinamool Congress (13), Bahujan Samaj Party (4), Communist Party of India (2), Communist Party of India (M) (5), Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (4), Congress (50), Indian Union Muslim League (1), JD(S) (1), Kerala Congress (M) (1), Nationalist Congress Party (4), Rashtriya Janata Dal (5), Samajwadi Party (13), Telegu Desam Party (6). There are 42 MPs in the upper house who may vote either way. These belong to the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (13), Biju Janata Dal (9), Indian National Lok Dal (1), People’s Democratic Party (2), Shiv Sena (3), Telangana Rashtriya Samithi (6), Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (2) and Independent (6). The voting showed that the opposition could garner only 105 out of 112 MPs ; while the NDA, which has only 90 MPs managed to get 125 on its side. Those who added to the NDA’s tally were from the BJP and TRS. The result of the election confirmed that the so-called opposition unity is more of a hype than a possibility. Though the NDA was able to work its way through with deft handling by prime minister Modi , the opposition had no visible or commonly acceptable leader. For the Congress and in particular, its prime ministerial candidate Rahul Gandhi, the result was a psychological blow not so much for the defeat but for the fact that he has again failed to deliver when it was needed. That will be a big negative for the Congress which sees itself as a fulcrum of opposition unity as it will provide Modi another opportunity in 2019 to again snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: npdesk@gmail.com Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267, e-mail:npostadvt@gmail.com



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus