Elected unopposed, BJP’s Ginsuanhau sworn in as MLA

Correspondent IMPHAL, Oct 28 | Publish Date: 10/28/2020 1:10:41 PM IST

Ginsuanhau who was elected unopposed from Singhat (ST) Assembly constituency was on Wednesday sworn in as a member of Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Speaker Y Khemchand administered the oath as MLA at his office chamber today, at 2 pm.

Ginsuanhau contested the by-election in Singnat AC as a BJP candidate but his only rival independent candidate Chinlunthang withdrew his nomination paper, following which he was declared elected unopposed. The by-poll to the Singhat AC which was necessitated after Ginsuanhau resigned from the Assembly before leaving Congress to join the BJP. He was elected as Congress nominee in 2017 general elections to the state Assembly.

He was among the six Congress MLAs who resigned from the membership of state Assembly on August 10 this year. Even as the opposition Congress did not field its candidate in Singhat AC to retain the seat, party’s nominees were in the fray in the remaining four ACs.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus