Four BJP workers hurt, vehicles damaged in pre-poll violence

Correspondent IMPHAL, Oct 15 | Publish Date: 10/15/2020 1:17:17 PM IST

At least four BJP workers were injured, in a pre-poll violence incident reported in Manipur’s Churachandpur district where by-poll will be held on one of the assembly constituencies of the district on Wednesday night.

Singhat (ST reserved) seat of Churachandpur district was among the five Assembly segments where by-polls will be conducted on November 7.

As per report, vehicles in which BJP workers and supporters were travelling were attacked by a group of people armed with sticks and other deadly weapons on their way back from an election campaign at Lhunwang village under Singhat police station last night around 7.30 pm.

The report said that the mob first pelted stones towards the vehicles while it was approaching the village and then physically assaulted the workers and supporters.

Many were hit by sticks and other weapons and four sustained injuries which needed medical attention.

The vehicles were also damaged partially as they smashed it with sticks and stones. The report said that the workers and supporters of BJP candidate Ginsuanhau were returning from Behiang at the Indo-Myanmar border after an election campaign.

However, another highly reliable report said that the BJP workers and supporters were attacked by the villagers after they (BJP workers and supporters) allegedly assaulted some workers and supporters of a rival candidate during their visit at Behiang.

Some anguished villagers waylaid them to avenge their high-handed attitude towards workers and supporters of other candidates. The by-poll in Singhat Assembly constituency of Churachandpur district was necessitated after Ginsuanhau who was named as BJP candidate for the upcoming by-poll vacated the seat. 

He was elected on a Congress ticket from this constituency in 2017 general elections to the state Assembly but resigned from the state Assembly before switching to the saffron fold.

Ginsuanhau was among the six Congress legislators who tendered resignations from the state assembly ahead of a confidence motion of the BJP-led coalition government that was discussed by the house of state Assembly on August 10 last.  

Apart from Singhat Assembly segment, four other Assembly segments were by-polls will be held on November 7 are Wangoi AC in Imphal West district, Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha AC in Thoubal district and Saitu AC in Kangpokpi district. 

By-polls in these constituencies were necessitated after the sitting MLAs (all Congress) resigned from the state assembly on August 10 last and switched to the saffron party.

Since announcement of the by-poll schedule, election campaigns in these by-poll bound Assembly constituencies were picking up with pre-poll sporadic violence in some parts of each constituency.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus