India beat West Indies by 4 wickets in 1st T20

Lauderhill, Aug 3 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 8/3/2019 12:10:17 PM IST

Navdeep Saini starred on his international debut on Saturday as India overcame a spirited effort from the West Indies to win the first T20 international by 4 wickets in Lauderhill and take a 1-0 lead in the three-match series.

Chasing 96 for victory, India kept on losing wickets at regular intervals but eventually managed to reach the target with 16 balls to spare. Rohit Sharma top-scored with 24 while Virat Kohli and Manish Pandey made 19 runs each but India were in a spot of bother at 69 for 5 before Krunal Pandya (12), Ravindra Jadeja (8 not out) and Washington Sundar (10*) got the team over the line.

Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell and Keemo Paul took two wickets each for the Windies.

The win was earlier set up by India’s bowlers led by debutant Navdeep Saini, who finished with 3 wickets for 17 runs from 4 overs. He was ably supported by Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2/19) while Washington Sundar, Khaleel Ahmed, Ravindra Jadeja and Krunal Pandya managed to pick up a wicket each.

There was no substantive partnership in the West Indies innings with the highest being the 34 between captain Carlos Brathwaite (9) and top-scorer Kieron Pollard (49) for the sixth wicket. Nicholas Pooran (20) was the only other West Indies batsman to score double digit figures.

West Indies were reduced to 5 for 33 in the powerplay with Sundar getting rid of John Campbell with his 2nd delivery in the first over itself. This was the second lowest score for the Windies after the loss of five wickets in a T20I match while batting first.

Veteran Kieron Pollard was the lone batsman who put up a fight for the home side with 49 runs off 49 balls including two boundaries and four sixes while the rest all failed to fire. Nicholas Pooran (20) was the only other batsman who managed double figures as the Windies got bowled out for the 8th lowest total against India.

Saini, who came into the attack in the 5th over, picked up the wickets of Nicholas Pooran and Shimron Hetmyer off successive deliveries in his first over itself.

He returned for his second spell and picked up the wicket of Kieron Pollard.

Washington Sundar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar removed openers John Campbell and Evin Lewis for a pair of ducks.

Brief scores: 

West Indies: 95/9 (Kieron Pollard 49, Navdeep Saini 3/17) 

India:  98/6 (Rohit Sharma 24; Sunil Narine 2/14)


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus