List of star campaigners announced

Correspondent KOHIMA, MAR 29 (NPN) | Publish Date: 3/29/2019 11:40:59 AM IST

With the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 for 1- Nagaland Parliamentary Constituency and by-election to the 26 Aonglenden A/C getting close, additional chief electoral officer (ACEO) N Moa Aier has issued a list of star campaigners of the various political parties. As per the list, there are 40 star campaigners for Indian National Congress (INC) including Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Dr. SC Jamir, Navjot Singh Sidhu and K Therie.

The star campaigners for National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) include Neiphiu Rio, Chingwang Konyak, Abu Metha, Alemtemshi Jamir, Nzuota Swuro and 35 other members.

Naga People’s Front (NPF) star campaigners include Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu, Apong Pongener, Dr. Huskha Yepthomi, KG Kenye, TR Zeliang and 35 other members.

Interestingly the seven NPF MLAs, who recently declared their support to PDA consensus candidate, were also included in the list of star campaigners. Star campaigners are individuals whose travel expenses are not to be accounted for in the election expense accounts of candidates.

Special Expenditure Observer: Election Commission of India has appointed DD Goel, ex-IRS, as Special Expenditure Observer in Nagaland for the upcoming elections. 

EC stated that the special expenditure observer would be required to watch the conduct of elections in the state with a special emphasis on controlling and curbing the abuse of money power, in consultation with the CEO and other officers of the state and such other Election Authorities as deemed appropriate.

CEO, Abhijit Sinha, informed that Goel would be arriving in Nagaland on April 1, 2019 and on the same day he would be holding a meeting with the nodal officers of the state associated with election expenditure monitoring.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267,
© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus