LS admits no-trust motion; debate on Jul 20

LS admits no-trust motion; debate on Jul 20
NEW DELHI, JUL 18 (AGENCIES) | Publish Date: 7/19/2018 12:05:09 AM IST
Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Wednesday accepted a no-confidence motion moved by Telegu Desam Party MP, K. Srinivas against the BJP-led NDA government. 
The Speaker notified that the ‘no trust motion’ against four-year old Narendra Modi government will be taken up by the Lok Sabha for debate and voting on Friday (July 20).
Making the announcement in the post lunch session, Mahajan said as the no-confidence motion gets priority over other issues, the debate will commence at 11a.m. with no Question Hour on that day.
Earlier, immediately after the end of Question Hour, as soon as the motion was moved by TDP MP from Vijaywada, Srinivas, several opposition members including from Congress, Left parties and Trinamool Congress were up on their feet to support it.
Leader of the Opposition Mallikarjun Kharge protested that as largest opposition party, the motion of no trust against the Modi government moved by Congress party should have been accepted. The Speaker said, “I have gone by rules and the ruling of the Chair cannot be discussed here”.
A notice for a no-trust motion needs the support of at least 50 MPs. During the Zero Hour, Speaker named all members from the TDP, Congress and NCP among others, who had moved similar no- confidence motion notices.
“More than 50 members are supporting the motion, so the leave is granted (to bring in no-confidence motion),” Mahajan said while accepting the notices. “The BJP and the NDA will face the no-confidence motion,” said Ananth Kumar, parliamentary affairs minister. “We are hopeful that we will get support from parties outside NDA as well. It is strange that opposition brings this motion despite the fact that the BJP got majority on its own and today NDA is ruling in 21 states,” Kumar told reporters.
Sources in the BJP said the government would get the support of at least 314 MPs in the lower house, which has an effective strength of 535 members.
Meanwhile, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi refuted the view that the opposition does not have the numbers. When asked about the no-confidence motion brought by her party among others, she retorted: “Who says we don’t have the numbers?”
In 2003, then leader of opposition Sonia Gandhi had moved a no-confidence motion against the BJP government of Atal Behari Vajpayee. The motion, moved ahead of elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Delhi, was defeated by a mile.
In 2008, the Congress-led coalition faced a confidence vote - in which the government tests whether it still has enough numbers in parliament - after the Left pulled out support over the India-US nuclear deal.
To ensure numbers, both the ruling coalition and the opposition summoned MPs who were unwell or even in prison. The government won by 19 votes.
The BJP-led coalition faced a no-confidence vote in 1999 after J Jayalalithaa’s AIADMK withdrew support. The Vajpayee government lost by one vote, the narrowest margin ever in the history of parliament.
Meanwhile, before the Question Hour commenced, four new members took oath and Mahajan read out obituaries of three former members. KM Yashwantrao (NCP), Gavit Rajendra Dhedya (BJP), Tokheho Yepthomi (NDPP) and Tabassum Begum (RLD) took oath as members.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus