Manipur Cong ready to go to SC for disqualification of 7 MLAs

Correspondent IMPHAL, May 2 | Publish Date: 5/2/2020 9:03:49 AM IST

Manipur Congress said it was ready to knock at the door of Supreme Court again regarding the pending disqualification of its seven MLAs who had defected to the BJP in the backdrop of Speaker’s delay in pronouncing his verdict, despite the landmark judgment of the apex court.

Addressing a press conference, Congress MLA K Meghachandra, one of the petitioners seeking disqualification of the seven MLAs, alleged that despite Supreme Court’s order, the tribunal of Speaker of Manipur Assembly has failed to pronounce its final verdict on the pending petitions. 

He reminded that the apex court had given a landmark judgment in the disqualification case under the 10th Schedule on January 21 last. In the order, the apex court ordered that all the disqualification cases must be disposed within three months. Meghachandra said that the three months had already lapsed but the Speaker is yet to take any decision regarding the petitions for disqualification of the seven MLAs till date.

Mention may be made that it was following the judgment of the Supreme Court that recently the Speaker pronounced his tribunal’s final verdict of the petitions seeking disqualification of the then state forest minister Th Shyamkumar.

The Speaker disqualified Shyamkumar, who won the election on Congress ticket but defected and joined BJP even before taking oath as member of the state Assembly, from being a member of the state Assembly.

During the proceedings of hearing Shyamkumar’s case, the Speaker had also taken up the cases of the seven MLAs but had not taken any final decision till date. The MLAs facing  disqualification cases are: Oinam Lukhoi, Ksh Biren, Paonam Brojen, Sanasam Biramani, Ngamthang Haokip, Ginsuanhau and Y Surchandra.

The Congress MLA’s disclosure regarding knocking at the door of the Supreme Court came barely three days after the Speaker had fixed the date for next hearing of disqualification petitions against them on coming May 8. 

The tribunal of the Speaker had already been listed three days ago. 

Mention may be made here that after hearing a disqualification petition filed by Congress MLAs Meghachandra and Fajur Rahim, the Supreme Court had in March this year stripped the cabinet minister Th Shyamkumar Singh and banned his entry into the Assembly.  Subsequently, the Speaker had disqualified Shyamkumar as a member of the Assembly.  Earlier, in January 21 last, the apex court in its judgment gave a maximum period of three months for the Speaker to decide on all pending matters under the 10th Schedule of the Constitution.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus