Mnp by-polls: Ind candidate withdraws candidature; BJP candidate alone in fray

Correspondent IMPHAL, Oct 22 | Publish Date: 10/22/2020 1:10:25 PM IST

Withdrawal of nomination paper onThursday by an independent candidate for the by-elections paved the way for the ruling BJP in Manipur to get a seat unopposed.

In the by-polls to be held on November 7 to fill five of the 13 vacant seats of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, a total of 16 persons have filed their nomination papers.

However, during scrutiny on Wednesday, a nomination paper of an independent candidate was rejected leaving 15 candidates to contest the five Assembly segments spread over four districts of the state.

Despite clearing scrutiny, independent Chinlunthang from Singhat (ST) Assembly segment in Churachandpur district pitted against BJP candidate withdrew his nomination on Thursday. After Chinlunthang withdrew his nomination, BJP candidate Ginsuanhau is likely to retain the seat unopposed.

The by-poll in this constituency was necessitated after Ginsuanhau who was elected on Congress ticket in the last 2017 general elections to the state Assembly resigned from the state Assembly on August 10 last.

The opposition Congress had fielded no candidate to retain the seat leaving the independent candidate as the only opponent of the BJP candidate.

Interestingly, Chinlunthang who had decided to contest was earlier appointed as OSD (Officer on Special Duty) in the tribal affairs and hills department.

As per the order copy available with this correspondent, his appointment as OSD was made on September 24, only a few days ahead of announcement of the by-poll scheduled on September 29. A total of 16 persons filed their nomination papers for the November 7 by-polls.  

However, during scrutiny on Wednesday, a nomination paper filed by an independent candidate from Wangoi Assembly segment in Imphal West district was rejected, leaving only 15 candidates in the fray.

After another independent candidate withdrew his nomination paper, there are altogether 14 candidates for the five seats.

The ruling BJP and the opposition Congress is fielding four each candidates and NPP in one seat. The rest are independent candidates. The total number of candidates to be in the fray will be known only after today, the last date for withdrawal of nomination paper.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus