Mnp pol crisis: Cong, BJP issue separate whips

Corresspondent IMPHAL, Aug 7 | Publish Date: 8/7/2020 1:05:37 PM IST

Both the opposition Congress and the ruling BJP in Manipur have issued whips to their respective legislators to ensure they attend the one-day state Assembly session on August 10.

It is also not yet clear whether the coalition government will issue a common whip or not. The monsoon session of the state legislative Assembly which will have only a sitting will be held on August 10.

The opposition Congress is moving a no-confidence motion against the N Biren Singh led BJP’s coalition.

Chief whip of the Congress legislators, Konthoujam Govindas  issued a three-line whip to its legislators on Wednesday instructing them to be present in the House during discussion and voting on no confidence motion  on August 10.

“All the members are to attend the 11th session of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly convening from 11 am on 10th August till the end of the session and remain in the House during discussion and voting.

“All the members are directed to vote in line with the decision made by the Congress Legislature Party led by Shri O Ibobi Singh,” said the whip issued on the direction of the MPCC president. BJP legislator party’s chief whip and works minister Th Biswajit also issued whip to its legislators asking them to be present at the time of voting on no confidence motion. 

It instructed its legislators to be present in the House until the session is over and vote in favour of the government if there was any voting on the no confidence motions moved by Congress party.

However, NPP and NPF, the two major partners of the BJP-led coalition government and other partners of the government were yet to issue a whip.

NPP, NPF, LJP, Trinamool Congress and an independent legislator are the partners of the BJP in the coalition government.

The NPP and NPF, having four legislators each have been supporting the BJP-led coalition government in the state while the LJP and Trinamool Congress have one legislator each.

P Sharatchandra of BJP is the chief whip of the coalition government.

The present effective strength of the 60-member Manipur legislative Assembly is 53 after four Congress legislators were disqualified by the Speaker and three BJP legislators resigned as members of the House. The Speaker had also disqualified the lone AITC legislator. However, an interim order of the High Court of Manipur stayed the Speaker’s order till August 20, 2020. 

The opposition Congress had already submitted at least three notices of moving no confidence motion against the N Biren-led coalition government to the state Assembly secretariat.

While submitting the notices, the Congress alleged that even as the chief minister had given assurance to hand over drug kingpin Lhukhosei Zou’s case to CBI, the same was not translated into action.

The sensitive case of drug kingpin Lhukhosei Zou, a former ADC Chandel chairman and an active member of the ruling BJP resurfaced when an MPS (Manipur Police Service) officer, in an affidavit submitted to the High Court of Manipur, alleged that the chief minister had pressured her to release Zou.

Zou was arrested from his official quarter in Imphal along with seven others after 4.5 kg of heroin, 2,80,200 WY (world is yours) tablets, Rs 57,18,000 cash, Rs 95,000 in scrapped currency notes and several other incriminating articles were seized on June 19, 2018.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus