Modric wins Golden ball award

Moscow, Jul 15 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 7/16/2018 12:55:06 AM IST
Croatia captain Luka Modric has been awarded the 2018 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball award for the best player of the tournament.
Modric led his team to the final for the first time, regularly running matches from the heart of midfield.
The 32-year-old was named as the winner ahead of Belgium skipper Eden Hazard and France forward Antoine Griezmann.
Modric is the first player from his country to ever win the award.
The midfielder scored in the shoot-outs against both Denmark and Russia in the last 16 and quarter-final matches.
In the group stages he scored a stunning goal during the 3-0 thrashing of Argentina.
England captain Harry Kane won the Golden Boot as the top scorer of the 2018 World Cup after no player in Sunday’s final, a 4-2 win by France over Croatia, surpassed his total of six goals.
France’s Antoine Griezmann, who scored in the final, finished second with his four goals and two assists. Belgium’s Romelu Lukaku had four goals and one assist, and Russia’s Denis Cheryshev, Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo and France’s Kylian Mbappe also scored four goals, but did not create any others.
Kane did not score in any of England’s final three games in Russia but his five goals in the group stage - two strikes against Tunisia and a hat trick against Panama - and his penalty in the round of 16 against Colombia sealed the award for the Tottenham Hotspur striker.
Kane matched Gary Lineker’s England record of six goals at a World Cup finals. Lineker still holds the record for the most career England goals at World Cups, with a total of 10 scored in 1986 - where he won the Golden Boot - and 1990.
Belgium goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois has been awarded the 2018 Golden Glove Award. The Chelsea stopper stared as Belgium reached the semi-final stages, losing to eventual winners France before claiming third place with victory over England. 
Courtois is the second Belgian to win the accolade, after Michel Preud’homme claimed it 24 years ago at the 1994 World Cup in the United States.
France forward Kylian Mbappe has won the Best Young Player award for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.
The award caps a roller-coaster 12 months for the 19-year-old Mbappe, who became just the fourth teenager ever to play in a World Cup final.
And he became just the second teenager ever to score in a final when he scored France’s fourth during their 4-2 victory over Croatia.
The award can only be given to players aged 21 or younger so there wasn’t too much competition for Mbappe but he was still a worth winner.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus