National unity day observed across the state

DIMAPUR | Publish Date: 10/31/2019 12:36:35 PM IST

Various colleges and schools celebrated Rashtriya Ekta Diwas (national unity day) with the rest of the country to commemorate the birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhai Patel on October 31.

Nagaland Police: Nagaland Police observed the day at Conference Hall PHQ with DGP Nagaland as the chief host. In his brief address, T.J Longkumer Director General of Police, stated that Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel played a prominent role in the country’s struggle for Independence and guided its integration into a united and independent India. DGP also called upon the gathering to renew oaths, to uphold the integrity and security of the nation, and also led in administering the pledge of unity to all the participants.

District Hospital Dimapur: In commemoration of the occasion, a blood donation drive was organised Thursday, at District Hospital Dimapur, by Nagaland Pradesh Seva Dal which was inaugurated by NPCC president K Therie. Altogether 24 units were collected during the drive. (NP)

Nagabazar Baptist School Kohima: Nagabazar Baptist School, Kohima observed national unity day on October 31 to commemorate the birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. (NP) 

NU Lumami: Nagaland University (NU), Lumami organised a run for unity which began from the university health centre and culminated at the main administration building on October 31. Rashtriya Ekta Diwas pledge was led by prof. M.K. Sinha in Hindi and by Dr. Abemo, registrar in English. Peter Ki, PRO proposed the vote of thanks. Programme was attended by teachers, officers, administrative staff, research scholars, and students including those of Kendriya Vidyalaya Lumami.

MCK: In Modern College Kohima (MCK) programme started with a special song by Pfutsuvielo of class 12 arts, speech on Sardar Vallabhai Patel was given by Lituna of class 12, quiz competition was conducted on the life and achievement of Sardar Vallabhai Patel. Later Onurito of class 12, administered the integrity and pledge ceremony to mark the occasion. A mini procession Prabhat Pheri was also initiated after the programme by the students along with the teachers, wherein there were total of 240 participants.

MSS: In Mount Saramati School (MSS), Unity Village, 5th mile Dimapur, students, teachers and staff took to the street with banners that read “Run and march for unity”, “unite for a stronger nation”, “preserve the unity of the nation”.  A press release from MSS stated that, altogether there were 628 participants. Later on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas pledge for unity was initiated by the school chairman Chubayanger. School also thanked officer incharge Dipuphar PS for lending assistance. 

AHSSD: Assisi Higher Secondary School Dimapur (AHSSD) organised quiz competitions on Sardar Vallabhai Patel, essay writing and speech delivering. Procession from school campus till Khermahal junction was also carried out on the day.

Kohima College: NSS volunteers of Kohima College, Kohima participated in the run for unity organized by the Deptt of Youth Resource and Sports along with the NSS office.

Civil secretariat: At the civil secretariat programme was conducted under chairmanship of 

principal secretary Home, Abhijit Sinha. According to DIPR report, Sinha said that Patel played a crucial role in pre-independence as well as post-independence India, and was closely associated with freedom of the country. Unity day pledge was also administered by the chairman of the programme.

YRS: Department of Youth Resources and Sports (YRS) flagged off a run for unity by principal secretary, Home, Abhijit Sinha in the presence of DC Kohima, secretary YRS, director YRS, officers and coaches. Hundreds of students from NSS and IG Sports Academy took part in the run. The event was flagged off from PHQ junction and culminated at Kohima local ground.

Kiphire: Run for unity race was held at Kiphire district organised by the SP office Kiphire. Students from various schools participated in the race. In the running race, the first position was bagged by Pisali from Trinity high School, second and third positions were secured by Likhumba of Govt. High School Kiphire and Lumkhaba of Elbeth High school respectively.

DPRO office Mon: A pledge taking ceremony on national unity day was observed at district public relations office (DPRO) Mon administered by information assistant, Mon Hq K.K. Chim. 

Immanuel College: Teaching and non teaching staff along with the students of Immanuel College took pledge during the celebration  of Rashtriya Ekta Diwas 2019 at the college premises.

BCTE Dimapur: Bosco College of Teacher Education (BCTE) Dimapur organised various 

activities in the college premises. Approximately 100 students participated by taking pledge on peace and solidarity. Essay competition was also conducted.

SSP: Sainik School Punglwa (SSP) organised a run for unity participated by all cadets, staff and officers. Participants of the unity run ran a distance stretch of 4 kms. Cadets and staff took a pledge and solemnly resolved to preserve the unity, integrity and security of the nation.

Mokokchung Battalion: Mokokchung Battalion of Assam Rifles conducted run for unity jointly with Mokokchung Police at Mokokchung town. Run was flagged off by Commandant, Mokokchung Battalion and SP, Mokokchung Town. All ranks of Assam Rifles, Mokokchung Police and personnel from NAGA TA along with youths of Mokokchung town took part in the run. 

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus