NDPP, NFP candidates file nomination for Speaker election

Correspondent KOHIMA, FEB 4 (NPN) | Publish Date: 2/4/2020 12:31:08 PM IST
Ruling NDPP and Opposition NPF candidates filed their nomination papers for the election of Speaker of the State Assembly, scheduled to be held on February 7. 
While the NDPP has fielded Sharingain Longkumer-- incumbent deputy speaker (Speaker-in-charge), the NPF has nominated former Speaker, Dr. Imtiwapang Aier, MLA.
Sharingain, a first-time NDPP legislator from Aonglenden constituency, was elected in the bye-election held in 2019 following the demise of NDPP legislator, Imtikumzuk Longkumer.
Dr. Imtiwapang from Impur constituency was first elected in 2013 as Congress candidate. He became the 17the NLA Speaker in 2017, after the Congress legislators merged with the NPF.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus