NFA announces squad for Dr. T. Ao Northeast Championship

Correspondent KOHIMA, JAN 2 (NPN) | Publish Date: 1/2/2020 12:48:24 PM IST
With just 16 days remaining for Dr. T Ao Northeast football Championship, Nagaland Football Association (NFA) has announced the names of the 20 players who will be representing Nagaland for the upcoming Dr. T Ao Northeast football Championship, a premier football tournament for the eight North-eastern states which will be hosted by Nagaland.
The football tournament is slated to be held from January 18 to 28 which will be played at astro turf ground at Indira Gandhi Stadium Kohima. The participating teams are Nagaland, Manipur, Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Tripura, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh who will vie for the coveted title.
The team will be led by Roko Angami as the team coach, while Colo Mero as the team manager. In the selection list, three players have already played at the national league i.e. I-League namely Neithovilie Chalieu, the goalkeeper for Shillong Lajong FC; Hitova Ayemi, former Minerva Punjab FC player and Khwetelhi Thopi, who now ply his trade in TRAU Football Club Manipur.
While midfielder Ratobe N Poireng Zeliang who was selected to play for international club Lilla Torg FF in Sweden will also be donning his jersey to play for the state during the championship.
The Nagaland Football Association has informed that the preparatory camp for the championship will begin from January 6 at the IG Stadium Kohima for which the selected players have been asked to report latest by 3 p.m. on the said day.  For further information, one may contact the team manager Colo Mero at 9436005392.
The NE football tournament is supported by the North Eastern Council (NEC) and Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DONER) aimed to promote football in the Northeast region. 
The squad:
Goalkeepers: Neithovilie Chalieu, Kevikielie Pienyü
Defenders: Vikethozo Zhotso, Sanyem Konyak, Olando Yimchunger, Hemping, Nighatu Assumi, Letkhokai Kuki.
Midfielders: Haotinmang Thomsong, Sinenlo Kath, Medoneituo Sekhose, Kekhrieletuo Tsira, Kethosilie Zatsu, Ratobe N Poireng Zeliang, Hitova Ayemi, Kakhevi Assumi.
Forwards: Rhitsho Mero, Khwetelhi Thopi, Limakumzuk Ao, Imlongchaba.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus