NPF suspends 7 rebel legislators

NPF suspends 7 rebel legislators
NPF MLAs (from L) E.E. Pangteang, Toyang Chang, (4th & 5th from L) Eshak Konyak, Kejong Chang, (extreme R) BS Nganglang and (4th from R) N. Thongwang Konyak with Neiphiu Rio. (File) and NPF legislator CL. John. (File)
DIMAPUR, APR 16 (NPN) | Publish Date: 4/16/2019 11:52:31 AM IST

All seven rebel NPF legislators who had announced support to the ruling PDA candidate for the Lok Sabha election, have been suspended from the primary and active membership of the party by the NPF president Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu after recommendation from the party Disciplinary Action Committee (DAC).

The seven suspended NPF legislators include-- N. Thongwang Konyak (46 Mon Town A/C), Eshak Konyak (47 Aboi A/C), E.E. Pangteang (48 Moka A/C), B.S. Nganglang (49 Tamlu A/C), Toyang Chang (53 Tuensang Sadar I A/C), Kejong Chang (54 Tuensang Sadar II A/C) and C.L. John (45 Tehok A/C).

In the order, NPF president Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu also ruled that while under suspension, the seven MLAs would continue to be bound by the whip of the party on the floor of Nagaland Legislative Assembly as per the existing law and judicial decisions of Supreme Court.

Copies of the order have been sent to Chief Election Commissioner of India, chief electoral officer and speaker of Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

According to the order, the party Disciplinary Action Committee had meticulously examined the replies to the show-cause notices served on them on March 26 and to which they filed their replies on April 1. After proper application of mind, the DAC recommended their suspension from the party’s membership, the order stated.

Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu had noted that in their replies, the seven had “unambiguously” admitted what was set out in the show-cause notice in reiterating their stand in siding with the political opponent of the NPF in the Lok Sabha election 2019.

The NPF president stated that their attitude was “nothing short of wilfully defying the collective decision of the party” by supporting a candidate of a rival political party for the lone Parliamentary constituency adding this was sufficient to infer that that their decisions and movements were all anti-party activities.

Further, the order pointed out that instead of expressing remorse for not being able to adhere to the party’s collective decision and directive, the seven instead had demanded withdrawal of the show-cause notices. 

The NPF president noted that their attitudes demonstrated that they held some hidden agenda to “further disintegrate the party which cannot be overlooked.” 

He also pointed out that NPF had convened a consultative meeting of all its MLAs, Central office bearers, Central Executive Council members, central frontals and cell office bearers, divisional presidents, working presidents and general secretaries on March 30 at its Central office, Kohima. 

Instead of attending the meeting, which was an opportunity for the seven legislators to explain their position, Dr. Shürhozelie Liezietsu said that the MLAs rather chose to intentionally skip the meeting, and in doing so, forfeited their right to talk as inner party democracy and voluntarily giving their membership of NPF.

He further charged them of wilfully ignoring and avoiding NPF Legislature Party meetings since March 25 without valid reasons despite being served show-cause notices. 

Dr. Shürhozelie said this was another proof of voluntarily giving up membership from NPF by stopping from participating in any meetings of the party after openly associating themselves with the political opponent.

It was also noted in the order that after being served with show-cause notice the seven MLAs continued to associate themselves with the PDA government and NDPP candidate for the lone Nagaland Parliamentary constituency. The order stated this was “clear proof beyond reasonable doubt” that their conduct amounted to “voluntarily giving up the membership of NPF that cannot be condoned.”

Further, in the order Dr. Shürhozelie disclosed that the party central office received a post-election report which informed that the seven MLAs “had wholeheartedly supported and voted in-favour of the NDPP candidate in the Lok Sabha election” in total defiance of the NPF party decision.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus