Polling personnel gears up for duty in Kiphire

Polling personnel gears up for duty in Kiphire
Polling personnel checking their materials before leaving for assigned polling stations on November 1. (NP)
Correspondent KIPHIRE, NOV 1 (NPN) | Publish Date: 11/1/2020 12:34:35 PM IST

Polling personnel for the forthcoming by-election to 60 Pungro-KiphireA/C are all geared up for polling duty in Kiphire district.  12 section of polling party were sent as P-2 group category for polling stations located in nearby Indo-Myanmar border on November 1.  

With no road connectivity or due to bad condition of the road in three villages under Pungro sub-division, the P-2 party has to walk on foot. The polling stations are Vongtsuvong village, 13 kms on foot from Tsuntang village, Iponger 8 kms from Zaonger village and Lopfkhong, 7 kms from Khongjiri junction. 

Altogether there are 77 polling stations under 60 A/C Pungro-Kiphire with twenty-nine thousand five hundred general voters and one hundred one service voters to exercise their franchise  on November 3.

Short sent out programme was held at the DC’s office complex where deputy commissioner & district election officer Kiphire briefed the polling personnel and appreciated their dedication on November 1. Secretary, USBLA, Dr. Abise Sangtam invoked God’s blessing for the long journey and peaceful return from their duty. 

Altogether five candidates are in the fray for the 60 assembly constituency (Pungro-Kiphire) seat which was declared vacant by Election Commission of India after the expiry of late T. Torechu (NPF). The candidates are Khaseo Anar INC, Lirimong Sangtam BJP, S. Kiusumew Yimchunger IND, K. Shellumthong IND and T. Yangseo Sangtam IND. 

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus