Six file nomination for Meghalaya by-polls

Correspondent Shillong, Sep 30 | Publish Date: 9/30/2019 11:25:13 AM IST
The filing of nomination papers for the Shella Assembly by-polls in Meghalaya scheduled on October 21 came to an end on Monday with six candidates filing their nomination papers.
The by-polls has been necessitated following the demise of veteran United Democratic Party (UDP) legislator and former Assembly Speaker, Donkupar Roy on July 28.
Roy’s son Balajied Synrem filed his nomination papers as UDP candidate.  
He is confident to retain the seat which was represented by his late father for seven consecutive times.
The National People’s Party, which is leading the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government, has declared to support Synrem.
Batyngshain Laitmon Ryngnga filed his nomination paper as a Congress candidate.
Ryngnga who came third in the 2018 Meghalaya Assembly elections from Shella constituency is hopeful that he will win the by-poll. 
Grace Mary Kharpuri, who won the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council (KHADC) election earlier this year on a Congress ticket from Nongshken constituency, quit from the primary membership of the grand old party to contest the by-poll as an Independent candidate. 
Joshua Warjri of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Mosjo Rock F. Wanswett of People’s Democratic Front (PDF) also filed their nomination papers. 
Former Hill State People’s Democratic Party leader Komen Laitmon also filed his nomination papers as an Independent candidate. 
The scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Tuesday and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is October 3. 
The counting of votes will be done on October 24.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus