State BJP expects 2018 seat sharing formula for by-polls

State BJP expects 2018 seat sharing formula for by-polls
Imna along
KOHIMA, OCT 10 (NPN) | Publish Date: 10/10/2020 11:55:38 AM IST

: Nagaland is all set to go for by-polls to two assembly constituencies 14 Southern Angami-I Assembly Constituency under Kohima district and 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly Constituency under Kiphire district on November 3, 2020. 

It may be recalled that by-poll to the 14-Southern Angami-I constituency was necessitated after the demise of sitting NDPP legislator and Speaker Vikho-o Yoshu; while the 60-Pungro Kiphire seat fell vacant after the demise of sitting NPF legislator T. Torechu. Though both PDA constituents-- NDPP and BJP- have yet to announce their candidates for the two by-elections, sources told Nagaland Post, that in principle, both parties would continue with the same seat sharing formula of 2018.

This means that NDPP will contest the by-poll to the 14-Southern Angami-I constituency held by it and BJP will contest the by-poll to the 60 Pungro-Kiphire constituency which its candidate lost to NPF candidate T. Torechu. 

When contacted State BJP president Temjen Imna Along informed Nagaland Post that nothing has been finalized till date though talks were going on among PDA partners. 

He said BJP expected to continue with the pre-poll agreement with NDPP on seat sharing formula of 40:20 for the by-polls to 14-Southern Angami-I and 60-Pungro Kiphire Assembly constituencies. 

 Along further said based on the 2018 arrangement, BJP expects to contest the 60 Pungro-Kiphire assembly seat which was allotted to it in 2018. 

To queries, Along said BJP has about nine applicants in Pungro and discussions are on and the party was yet to decide on the candidate.

Along said since 60 Pungro Assembly Constituency was allotted to BJP seat, he was optimistic that alliance partner NDPP will honour the 2018 formula and also support its candidate to wrest the seat from the opposition.

Likewise he said as per the 2018 formula, the 14 Southern Assembly Constituency was allotted to NDPP which won the seat. He said BJP will extend all necessary help to NDPP for the partner to retain the seat.

 According to Election Commission of India, last date for filing nominations has been fixed as October 16, while the date for scrutiny of nominations will be October 17 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is October 19. 

By-polls will be held on November 3 and counting of votes on November 10 and the entire electoral process is to be completed by November 12.

Both NDPP and BJP are pre-poll allies who formed the Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA) for the 2018 assembly election in a seat-sharing agreement of 40:20 seats.

NDPP contested in 40 constituencies and won 18, while BJP contested in 20 constituencies and won 12 seats. The NPF contested in 58 constituencies and won in 26 while JD(U) and an independent won one seat each. The nascent National People’s Party contested in 25 and won in two.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus