Tehok FC win Kenguruse Memorial trophy

Tehok FC win Kenguruse Memorial trophy
Players of Tehok FC Mon after receiving the award at IG Stadium, Kohima on Friday. (NP)
Correspondent KOHIMA Nov 8 (NPN) | Publish Date: 11/8/2019 12:33:48 PM IST
ehok FC Mon beat Head Hunters 164 INF TA (Naga) to emerge as the new champions of the 5th Capt N Kenguruse Memorial Football Tournament played here at IG Stadium, Kohima on Friday.
Tehok FC Mon was made to sweat during the final match as they came from a goal down to beat Head Hunters by 2-1 in a thrilling encounter.
Head Hunters dominated the first half and Mezizoto Tetso should have scored in the 8th minute from a open play but hit the ball wide off the target. Head Hunters captain Haotingmang Thomsong freekick was inches away from giving the team the lead but custodian P Angki Konyak parried away the ball to keep the clean sheet. 
However, in the 38th minute, a blunder from the defenders saw Mezizoto Tetso heading in the lead for Head Hunters. Tehok FC, unable to connect the ball to their strikers, failed to bring up the game in the first half.
The second half however saw a rejuvenated Tehok FC team equalise the score as Shamba Samson Konyak scored within two minutes of the introduction. And in the 77th minute, Wapang scored through a stunning long range kick to put the team into the driver’s seat. Custodian P Angki Konyak was the hero of the match for Mon team making some crucial saves in the second half. He also cleared off the long crossings inside the penalty area as they held on to become the new champions.
In the third place play-off, Naga FC Kohima defeated Upper Khomi FC 4-2.
The champions of the tournament Tehok FC walked home with a cash prize of Rs 1, 80,000, while Head Hunters received Rs 80,000 along with the trophies. The third and fourth placed teams received Rs 30,000 and Rs.20,000 respectively. Avilhou Yhome of Naga FC with 8 goals was the highest goal scorer of the tournament, P Angki Konyak of Tehok FC, Mon was named the best custodian and Kudahu Dzudo of Upper Khomi FC, Phek received the most Valuable Player of the Tournament, and Kikrukhrielie Rutsa of Naga FC, Kohima was adjudged the best manager.
Temjen Toy IAS, Chief Secretary, who graced the closing ceremony, said the tournament has not only grown in popularity for the game of football but has also helped in honouring the brave Martyr Capt Neikezhakhuo Kenguruse. He added that such tournament builds and fosters friendship, which also is the main objective of armed forces. He also gave away the awards to the winners during the prize distribution ceremony.
The annual tournament is annually organised by the Assam Rifles, IGAR (North) in memory of Kargil hero late Captain Neikezhakuo Kenguruse, MVC. 
Altogether, 24 teams took part in the tournament.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus