United in name

By Nagaland Post | Publish Date: 1/20/2019 12:02:51 PM IST

 It was Mamata Banerjee’s show at the Brigade ground Kolkata on January 19 when she not only played host to the leaders of 23 non-BJP political parties but also sent a message that she was available to be a contender for the post of prime minister if her TMC can win all 42 or a majority of the seats in the forthcoming Lok Sabha election. The Kolkata rally was to unify all the non-BJP parties in the run up to the 2019 Lok Sabha election so as to put up a unified front through seat sharing arrangements in order to prevent division of votes against the BJP. The coming together of opposition parties is to showcase unity against Modi and BJP. It appears that the opposition parties have concluded that they will form the next government after defeating the BJP. In politics there is no permanent friend or permanent enemy but only permanent interests and the opposition parties themselves cannot guarantee whether any of them would not align with BJP to form the next government. Though united in their opposition against Modi; the opposition parties are against each other in some states. For example, the TRS and TDP are sworn foes , like the Left and TMC, DMK and AIADMK and Congress and AAP. In UP the SBP-SP have forged an alliance and left out the Congress. Even in Andhra Pradesh, TDP now wants to fight the Lok Sabha polls without any alliance with the Congress. The opposition leaders have monumental egos which will make it very difficult for any of them to accept any other as the leader of the so-called mahagathbandhan. Also, the opposition non-BJP parties have a number of ‘leaders’ who are being pitched as potential prime minister in case they could muster the numbers after the defeat of the BJP. The proposed coming together of all the Opposition parties before the 2019 Lok Sabha elections to counter the BJP has already run into trouble over their inconsistent remark on the probable prime ministerial candidate. In this regard, some parties like DMK and RJD are in favour of Rahul Gandhi as a possible prime minister to head a non-BJP government. DMK leader M.K. Stalin proposed the name of Congress president Rahul Gandhi to lead the proverbial mahagathbandhan, but other Opposition leaders made there displeasure known at the idea. Sanajwadi Party, Telegu Desam Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Trinamool Congress, and Nationalist Congress Party disagreed. These parties want that the issue be decided only after results. The disagreement signifies the uneasiness within the bickering parties who wanted the Congress to know that it should not think that it can walk over smaller parties just because it is the oldest party in order to grab the top post. Buoyed by its magnificent electoral successes in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan, the Congress believes it is on a comeback and thinks that any future government has to be led by the party’s leader. However, the non-Congress opposition parties have said in many ways that the party should not assume that Rahul will be the automatic choice. TMC has in mind Mamata, BSP-SP has in mind Mayawati, TDP has in mind Chandrababu Naidu. Therefore, the so-called mahagathbandhan in all probability, could only be in name if divisions and ego clashes prevent a genuine unity.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: npdesk@gmail.com Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267, e-mail:npostadvt@gmail.com



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus