Voting for M’laya twin by-poll ends

Voting for M’laya twin by-poll ends
NPP candidate and Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma accompanied his mother Soradini K Sangma and sister Agatha K Sangma as they cast their vote at Walbakgre Polling Station under South Tura Constituency, in Tura on Thursday.
Correspondent Shillong, Aug 23 | Publish Date: 8/23/2018 12:32:02 PM IST

 Voting ended peacefully on Thursday for the assembly by-elections to South Tura and Ranikor in Meghalaya with National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Conrad Sangma voicing confidence to win the by-poll and retain his chief minstership.

 “We successfully concluded the twin by-polls.  By and large the polls were held in a smooth manner,” Chief Electoral Officer Frederick Roy Kharkongor told journalists.

 “The polling percentage till 5 pm is 72.89 per cent in South Tura and 85.89 per cent in Ranikor. The figures may rise marginally since reports are awaited from a few far off non-motorable polling stations,” he said.

The Election authorities have deployed at least 10 sprinters including marathon national champion Binning Lyngkhoi to act as messengers where they collect information including voting percentage from the polling stations and share the same with sector officers stationing at the nearest motorable point.

 Kharkongor said there were some technical glitches during the voting but these were immediately sorted out. 

The by-poll in South Tura assembly seat was necessitated after Agatha Sangma resigned as member from South Tura Assembly seat to pave the way for her brother Conrad to contest the by-election.

Conrad is pitted against Congress candidate Charlotte W. Momin, John Leslee K. Sangma and Kris Kabul A. Sangma who are contesting as independents.

The Ranikor assembly seat fell vacant after former Public Works Department Minister and five-time Congress legislator from Ranikor constituency, Martin Danggo, resigned as member of the State Assembly and joined the ruling NPP after the government announced the creation of Ranikor Civil Sub-Division.  

Danggo is facing three candidates in his bid to get re-elected: Congress’ Jacquish A. Sangma, United Democratic Party’s Pius Marwein and People’s Democratic Front’s P.N. Syiem.

 “We at the NPP are confident to win both (South Tura and Ranikor) assembly seats since the electorates have faith and confidence having seen us running the state,” Conrad this Correspondent over phone.

However, the opposition Congress too exuded confidence saying that let’s wait till the last vote is counted in both constituencies. Meanwhile, the counting of votes will be held on August 27 at Tura, the district headquarters of West Garo Hills and Mawkyrwat, the district headquarters of South West Khasi Hills on August 27.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-2482 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus