12 European clubs to form Super League

London, Apr 19 (Agencies) | Publish Date: 4/19/2021 1:46:20 PM IST

Twelve of Europe’s biggest and richest clubs have agreed to form a breakaway league, dubbed the “Super League,” that threatens to derail the longstanding structures of the sport. After widespread reports about the formation of the 20-team competition, the dozen founding members confirmed their involvement Sunday evening.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Real Madrid, AC Milan, Inter Milan, and Juventus are the clubs that have agreed to participate. Three additional teams are expected to join ahead of the inaugural season, the Super League said, adding that the competition will begin as “soon as practicable.” The remaining five teams would vary each season based on performance.
“The new annual tournament will provide significantly greater economic growth and support for European football via a long-term commitment to uncapped solidarity payments which will grow in line with league revenues,” read a Super League statement. “These solidarity payments will be substantially higher than those generated by the current European competition and are expected to be in excess of €10 billion during the course of the initial commitment period of the clubs.” The founding clubs will receive a one-time payment of €3.5 billion. The move threatens the existence of the Champions League, Europe’s premier club event. The Super League’s proposal notes that matches will take place in the middle of the week, a slot the Champions League currently occupies.
UEFA condemns ESL plans
The European Super League (ESL) is a “disgraceful, self-serving” plan and a “spit in the face of football lovers”, says Uefa president Aleksander Ceferin.
He also said players who play for teams involved in the closed league would be “banned from the World Cup and Euros”, BBC reported stated.
Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham are among 12 clubs who have agreed to join the proposed ESL.
“We are all united against this nonsense of a project,” said Ceferin.
“I cannot stress more strongly how everyone is united against these disgraceful, self-serving proposals, fuelled by greed above all else,” he said, after plans for a revamped 36-team Champions League were agreed.
“[It is a] cynical plan, completely against what football should be. We cannot and will not allow that to change.
“Players who will play in the teams that might play in the closed league will be banned from the World Cup and Euros. We urge everyone to stand tall with us as we do everything in our power to ensure this never ends up in fruition.
“This idea is a spit in the face of all football lovers. We will not allow them to take it away from us.”

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus