6 CSOs derecognise Leishemba Sanajaoba as king of Manipur

Correspondent IMPHAL, Jun 14 | Publish Date: 6/14/2020 9:55:07 AM IST

Six major civil society organisations in Manipur on Sunday announced that they have derecognised Leishemba Sanajaoba as the king of Manipur.

The decision of the major CSOs came after the titular king of Manipur failed to declare his stand on mixing of the king’s institution and politics after he decided to contest the election to the Rajya Sabha seat from Manipur.

The titular king is in the fray for the lone Rajya Sabha from Manipur scheduled to be held on June 19 . He filed the nomination paper as a BJP candidate against Congress candidate T Mangibabu. The election was originally scheduled for March 26 but was deferred owing to the public health emergency due to COVID-19 and related advisories in the country.

After the filing of his nomination paper, various CSOs, the pressure groups of the state have demanded the titular king Leishemba Sanajoaba to abdicate his throne before he becomes an MP of the Rajya Sabha.

Few days ago, six major CSOs - All Manipur United Club Organisation (AMUCO), International Peace and Social Upliftment (IFSA), United Peoples’ Front (UPF), Heritage Council (HERICOUN), CCSK and LIPUL issued him a deadline to declare his stand on mixing of king’s institution and politics.

He was urged to clarify his stand on whether to become an MP of Rajya Sabha or to remain as the king of Manipur on or before June 12. 

Following the failure of a positive response from the titular king, the six CSOs, in a joint statement on Sunday, announced that they have derecognized Leishemba Sanajaoba as the king of Manipur. The statement read, as Leishemba Sanajaoba has stood firm on his decision to contest the RS election sidelining pleas by the people and CSOs of the state, there is no need for recognizing him as the king of Manipur. Sanajaoba will no longer be the ritual head of the state and symbolic king of the erstwhile kingdom and people and CSOs will stay away from participating in all activities involving him, it added. After one member had been disqualified and seven others facing disqualification cases were barred from entering the Assembly premises by a recent order of the High Court of Manipur, only 52 members in the 60-seat Manipur legislative Assembly will cast vote for the election of one MP for the Rajya Sabha from the state.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus