8 candidates in the fray for by-elections

KOHIMA, OCT 16 (NPN) | Publish Date: 10/16/2020 12:16:42 PM IST

Altogether eight candidates from different political parties and Independents filed nomination papers on the last day for by-polls to two Assembly constituencies – 14 Southern Angami-I and 60 Pungro-Kiphire.

According to chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha, five candidates filed their nominations for 60 Pungro-Kiphire. The candidates include Khaseo Anar (Congress), Lirimong Sangtam (BJP), K Shellumthong (Independent), T Yangseo Sangtam (Independent) and Kiusumew Yimchunger (Independent). 

On the other hand, three candidates filed their nominations on Friday for 14 Southern Angami-1 constituency and the candidates are Medo Yhokha (NDPP), Kikovi Kirha (NPF) and Seyievilie Peter Zashumo (Independent).

While October 17 has been fixed as the date of scrutiny of nominations, the last date for withdrawal of candidatures is October 19. Polling will be held on November 3 and counting of votes will take place on November 10.

The 14 Southern Angami-I seat fell vacant following the demise of sitting NDPP legislator and speaker Vikho-o Yoshu and 60-Pungro Kiphire fell vacant after the demise of its sitting NPF legislator T. Torechu. (Correspondent)

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus