8 candidates left in fray for by-polls

8 candidates left in fray for by-polls
Temjen Imna Along (NP)
Correspondent KOHIMA, OCT 19 (NPN) | Publish Date: 10/19/2020 12:09:20 PM IST

With no candidate having withdrawn nomination on the last day for withdrawal on Monday, eight candidates have now been left in the fray for the November 3 by-elections to two Assembly constituencies of 14 Southern Angami I (ST) and 60 Pungro-Kiphire (ST). The date of counting of votes is November 10.

According to an update provided by chief electoral officer (CEO), the candidates left in the fray for by-polls to 14-Southern Angami- I are NDPP’s Medo Yhokha, who is also PDA’s consensus candidate, NPF’s Kikovi Kirha and Seyievilie Peter Zashumo (Ind).

For by-election to 60- Pungro-Kiphire, the candidates in the fray are Khaseo Anar of Congress, Lirimong Sangtam of BJP/PDA consensus candidate, and three Independent– T Yangseo Sangtam, K Shellumthong and Kiusumew Yimchunger.

Polling will take place on November 3 between 6 a.m. and 4 p.m. While 14 Southern Angami - I has 13,641 (6,359 male, 7282 female) electors and 22 polling stations, 60 Pungro has a 29,601 (15,494 male, 14,107 female) electors with 77 polling stations.

State BJP hopes to increase tally in Assembly 
With BJP fielding Lirimong Sangtam as PDA’s consensus candidate for the by-poll to 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly constituency, party’s State president Temjen Imna Along was hopeful that the candidate would emerge victorious and help in increasing the saffron party’s tally in the 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly. Currently, the party has 12 legislators in the House of 60. 
Speaking to journalists at his residence here on Monday, Along said “We are anticipating a multi-cornered contest. The Independent candidates are also good.” 
He therefore called upon the BJP karyakartas to put all their efforts in ensuring Lirimong’s win. He however regretted that the campaign duration was less as the polling will be held on November 3. 
Hence, he said BJP would start campaigning from Tuesday onwards.
While sending his good wishes to other candidates, Along hoped that his party’s candidate would ultimately emerge victorious.
Along said the State BJP has prepared a list of 30 star campaigners, which included party’s national president JP Nadda and Union home minister Amit Shah. 
However, due to short duration of the campaign period and with Kiphire district being in a far-flung area, he regretted that it would not be possible for many to visit.
But the state BJP president was optimistic that BJP leaders from the North East like union minister for sports, Kiren Rijiju and North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) chairman Himanta Biswa Sarma would be able to come and campaign for the by-elections.
On 14-Southern Angami-I, Along reiterated that BJP was committed to the PDA and informed the media that the party’s State unit was mobilising it karyakartas in the constituency to extend all possible help to the ruling alliance’s consensus candidate Medo Yokha.
“We will make sure that Medo, an upcoming young leader, win the by-election by a huge margin,” he assured.
With polling scheduled on November 3, the by-polls to the two constituencies have been necessitated following demise of their sitting legislators. While 14 Southern Angami-I seat fell vacant following the demise of sitting NDPP legislator and speaker Vikho-o Yoshu, 60-Pungro Kiphire fell vacant after the demise of its sitting NPF legislator T Torechu.

Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus