BJP, Cong declare candidates for Pungro-Kiphire seat

BJP, Cong declare candidates for Pungro-Kiphire seat
BJP candidate Lirimong Sangtam and Cong nominee Kasheo Anar.
Correspondent/Staff Reporter KOHIMA/DIMAPUR, OCT 13 (NPN) | Publish Date: 10/13/2020 12:06:20 PM IST

BJP has announced Lirimong Sangtam as its official candidate for the by-election to 60 Pungro-Kiphire Assembly constituency (AC).

Lirimong’s name was part of the list of nine candidates released by BJP for the upcoming by-polls to the Legislative Assemblies of Uttar Pradesh, Nagaland and Karnataka.

The State BJP will hold the ticket distribution ceremony on Wednesday, which will be followed by filing of nomination, sources said.

On the other hand, Nagaland Pradesh Congress Committee (NPCC) has announced Khaseo Anar as its candidate for the by-poll to the 60 Pungro-Kiphire AC.

NPCC president K Therie officially handed over the ticket to Anar at a programme held at Congress Bhavan in Dimapur.

Speculations are doing the rounds that NPF and Congress might work on a consensus candidate for the by-poll to 14-Southern Angami-I AC. Sources said informal talks were held between the two parties though no decision has been taken yet. 

The sources added that NPF was all set to contest the 14-Southern Angami-I seat and, if things work out well, Congress could back the candidate.

Meanwhile, it has been learnt that NDPP may not field its candidate for the 60 Pungro-Kiphire seat as its ally BJP had categorically stated that it would go by the 2018 seat sharing formula.

Speaking to Nagaland Post, NDPP president Chingwang Konyak said his party might consider the request of BJP not to field candidate for the 60 Pungro-Kiphire by-poll since the seat was meant for BJP as per the pre-poll alliance agreement in 2018.

NPF president Dr Shurhozelie Liezietsu had on October 12 stated that his party would take a decision on Pungro-Kiphire seat based on the recommendation of the search committee.

It may be recalled that during 2019 Lok Sabha polls in Pungor-Kiphire, a total of 25,264 votes were polled out of which Congress secured 14,818 votes, while NDPP, NPP and independent secured 10,157 votes, 130 votes and 93 votes respectively, even as 66 votes were NOTA.

Going by the numbers, Congress was optimistic of doing well.


Launched on December 3,1990. Nagaland Post is the first and highest circulated newspaper of Nagaland state. Nagaland Post is also the first newspaper in Nagaland to be published in multi-colour.

Desk:+91-3862-248 489, e-mail: Fax: +91-3862-248 500
Advt.:+91-3862-248 267,



Join us on

© Nagaland Post 2018. All Rights are Reserved
Designed by : 4C Plus